We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Gaithersburg

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Gaithersburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Montgomery Village Ave, Intersection of Rte 355 & Montgomery, Gaithersburg, MD 20879   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
GreenLeadersGold level
Grasonville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Recent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

During my search for a hotel in the area, and one that is affordable and has a restaurant on property, I found the Holiday Inn. Upon arrival I was met by Isidro Alberto at the front desk who is a professional person in all manners. He will go above and beyond to answer questions, help you locate near by establishments and even contact you after check in to see if all accomodations meet your needs. After I stayed for a few occasions, I was surprised to be greated by name when checking in to this Hotel. While other hotels are close by to my work, I will continue to stay at this establishment since the staff is very personal and makes your stay comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask if the south tower is available since it is further away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Hello austinaddison,
We are pleased to hear that your stay with us, Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, is comfortable and fits your needs! We are happy to have you as a loyal customer to the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg brand!
Looking forward to serving you again,
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    51
    34
    13
    21
See reviews for
59
21
20
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norristown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

i have been staying @ this hotel for many of years now ... and it only gets better each time . the staff is like family to me and they always treat me excellent .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Hello Greg S!
We are pleased to hear that you feel a part of the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg family! Our team works very hard on making each guest feel at home. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Regards,
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Pines, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I have been a weekly guest at this hotel for the last seven years and a Platinum Club member with the chain and their associated hotel group.
The management and employees at this location have been as close as"family" to me for this period of time. I would not think of going anywhere else.
John Campolettano

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Hello John C,
We are happy to hear that we have become as “family” to you, as you have become a part of the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg family as well! Our teams work very hard on making each guest feel at home, while away from home. We hope that you take advantage of you Platinum Club status at our hotel, if not, please be sure to ask our guest services for all the details!
See you next week!
Kindly,
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

This was our second stay at the Gaithersburg Holiday Inn and we will NOT return.

Our room was not properly inspected when we checked in. The was no hot water and the room was not set up. We asked for a room with working hot water. They moved us from a large 2 Queen bed room to a small 2 Double bed room. The manager refused to lower the room rate. She was not helpful and a bit condescending. If it had been earlier in the day, we would have checked out!

The manager offered drink vouchers (4) and said that was all she could do.

For convenience, we ordered room service - lunch the next day. It took 10 minutes to get through the line and the order taker kept me on hold. Food arrived late and cold.

Disgusted by the lack of customer service. We will not return,

Arrive at this hotel and expect poor service from the manager down to the staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Andrew M,
We know your time is valuable so, thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn Gaithersburg on Tripadvisor.

First and foremost, we apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. This has been brought to the attention of the property’s General Manager and Guest Service Manager who are looking into this action. Please note that this is an isolated incident and are working hard to resolve any future related mishaps.
We take feedback very seriously as TripAdvisor is a valuable tool in improving our services.

Kindly,
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokosuka, Japan
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Stayed here for a 2 week business trip. The management was very helpful. He recommended several restaurants. He took us to a Jamaican grocery store which had homemade food at the back of the store. The Indian restaurant was great also. Easy access to the beltway. The bar has happy hour with different finger foods everyday. The room itself was just like any major hotel chain, nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Hello tattskin,
Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn Gaithersburg on TripAdvisor! Our team works very hard on accommodating each guest. We are very pleased to hear that our staff was able to make your stay enjoyable and familiarize you with the Gaithersburg area as well as take advantage of our amenities; shuttle and on-site restaurant.

We hope that we have the pleasure of serving you again!
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Nothing special... but everything is clean and the service is very good. Rooms were renovated, but they didn't seem to go very far (add the flat screen but leave old style furniture). Worth staying at if you are going through the area or are here for business (close to many companies). Don't waste your time eating here. There are lots of good places nearby.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Hello ChadM2:

Thanks for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor about Holiday Inn Gaithersburg! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location convenient to your needs. We hope that next time you’re traveling through Gaithersburg, Maryland you choose to stay with us!

Hope to see you soon!
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

we stayed there this weekend. the place is old, no hot water. the pillows smells and the beds were smaller in size compared to standard beds used by other hotels. the appliance were not plugged in. they have a extension outlet laying on the floor and we have to wrestle a cabinet to get it in.

staff was a little rude and feeling self important. we requested to have them check the hot water and they guy acted like it's our fault. he must have been past his lunch time.

i won't come back or even suggest this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: there is no good room.. beds are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dear Gary D,

As a newly renovated hotel, with 9 million dollars in upgrades, we sincerely apologize for your unfortunate experience at our property, Holiday Inn Gaithersburg. Our goal is for each guest to feel at home while away from home and each team member to be attentive to guests needs, regretfully we did not fulfill that goal during your stay. Please know that this is an isolated incident and has been brought to the attention of our General Manager.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor as it is a valuable tool in improving our service.

We hope that despite your experience, we have the pleasure of serving you again.

Kindly,
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gaithersburg

Address: 2 Montgomery Village Ave, Intersection of Rte 355 & Montgomery, Gaithersburg, MD 20879
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gaithersburg
#2 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
#3 Green Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gaithersburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, located in the heart of the I-270 High Tech Business Corridor northwest from the attractions of Washington, DC. Rockville, Germantown and Frederick are also nearby. IBM, Lockheed Martin, NIST, DOE and Hughes are within minutes of this Gaithersburg hotel, as are the Montgomery County Fairgrounds, Lake Forest Mall, Maryland Soccerplex, BlackRock Center for the Arts, and the Rockville and Cabin John Ice Rinks. The hotel offers free shuttle service within a 5-mile radius, including Rockville Amtrak and Shady Grove Metro stations.Corporate travelers will appreciate this Montgomery County hotel s 301 executive rooms with plenty of work space and extra amenities. All guest rooms feature free wireless & hard-wired high-speed Internet access. You'll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day! Business and leisure travelers alike will enjoy the indoor pool at our hotel. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center with whirlpool and sun patio. Enjoy American cuisine at the Village Park Cafe and Kids Eat Free! When it's time to unwind, O'Malley's Irish Pub is the place to enjoy your favorite beverage and a late night snack. We are also a pet-friendly hotel! Let the staff and outstanding service at the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg make your stay a memorable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.