We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“READ ME- THEN BOOK IT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Gaithersburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Gaithersburg to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Montgomery Village Ave, Intersection of Rte 355 & Montgomery, Gaithersburg, MD 20879   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“READ ME- THEN BOOK IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Gaithersburg was a planned stop in order to visit DC while on our way to Virgina Beach from Pittsburgh. There are MANY hotels in the area, so choosing one was a bit overwhelming. Trust me, this one has EVERYTHING you need!

ALL staff is friendly. The hotel is clean and well maintained. The complimentary breakfast buffet is first rate! We also enjoyed a delicious meal in the hotel's O'Malley's Irish Pub. The indoor pool and hot tub are set in a nice atmosphere! Our room was comfy and included a mini fridge, micro wave, and nice size flat screen tv.We stayed two nights.

We used the hotel's complimentary shuttle service to take us to and from the Shady Grove Metro Station, which is only minutes from the hotel. The quick jaunt gave us a chance to see the area, which is lovely, with lots of places to shop and eat!

It was our first time to visit DC, and we really enjoyed it.

Our family has traveled quite a bit. I usually jump site to site to plan our trips. I am new to trip advisor and find the site very helpful. I hope my review helps YOU to book a great hotel at a great price by booking THE HOLIDAY INN for a great stay in Gaithersburg! Check out their website- the pictures don't lie - and neither do I - so give it a try!

Room Tip: The hotel has 8 floors- We stayed on 7 and were happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Hello Danamoncity,
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff works very hard to make each guest feel like at home, from the daily fresh meals prepared by our Chef to making local attractions accessible to each guest. We hope that next time you are traveling through the area, you choose to stay with us, Holiday Inn Gaithersburg!

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    79
    43
    17
    25
See reviews for
82
34
27
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We loved it. The service was great. We wanted a good priced place to stay while visiting the sights in Washington, DC. It met our needs. We rode the Metro from Shady Grove Station to Metro Center in DC and walked to the White House, Mall, Capitol, and Museums. We would stay at this Holiday Inn again.

Room Tip: Request complimentarybreakfast and shuttle servic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Hello Leonaida,
We are very happy that you were able to visit the Nation’s Capitol and take advantage of our shuttle service and metro as it is an easy way to travel into Washington, D.C. It is important for Holiday Inn Gaithersburg to make your stay pleasant and comfortable so we are always willing to go a little extra.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel, Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, on TripAdvisor as it is a valuable tool in improving our service! Hope to see you soon!

Kindly,
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

My family and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg and had a wonderful visit! It was my oldest daughter's birthday and when the manager,Terrance, found out he went out of his way to make her celebration special. He had balloons put in the room to decorate, and helped us check in a little early to visit with our friends. The rooms are very nice, just recently renovated! Very clean, well appointed. The Restaurant was very good for breakfast in the morning. The hotel was busy with social events and groups, but the service was excellent! Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Hello z_man_and_the_girls,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel, Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, on TripAdvisor. We take guest feedback very seriously as it is a valuable tool in constantly improving our service.

We are enthusiastic that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. It is important for Holiday Inn Gaithersburg to be your home away from home and are always willing to go a little extra to make your stay pleasant and comfortable.

Hope your family had a wonderful celebration and we’ll be sure to give thanks to Terrance too!

See you on your next stay with Holiday Inn Gaithersburg!

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stopped overnight on our way to Virginia Beach from Ontario. The staff at this hotel must be hand picked as everyone is so polite and make you feel special, the front desk staff are impeccably dressed which I think says a lot of the management of the hotel. The rooms are a good size and very comfortable., and the whole appearance of hotel is great. Food in the Bar is excellent. Definitely the place to stay each time we visit the Beach.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Hello Tish the Dish,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel, Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, on TripAdvisor. Please know that we take these reviews very seriously as it a key tool in providing our guests with excellent service.

We are very delighted that we were able to serve you and your travelers over the night’s stay. The team at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg work very hard in making sure that our hotel is your home away from home- from the moment you enter to the time you leave.

Our goal is to completely satisfy every one of our guests. We hope that if you are ever looking for a local hotel in the area that you choose to stay with us.


Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Staying at the Holiday Inn is usually a no-brainer. At least that has been my experience. I found this one just okay. I live in the area and this was a surprise trip for my son as the HI had a pool. Possibly I put too much stock in first impressions, but it took several minutes for the front desk staff to check us in. Clearly there was a large group in the hotel that weekend and as I was checking in on a Friday afternoon, I was surprised there was just one person assisting guests. Our room looked a little worn, but it was fine. The pool was fine as well. Really, all just fine. I guess that is what $100+ buys these days: just okay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelvinNichols, Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Hi,
Thank you for your review of our hotel, the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg. We appreciate receiving your comments. We are constantly trying to better our service to our guest and receiving reviews helps us to improve.

Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Piedras, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We wanted to visit DC and a friend suggested to stay in a hotel outside of the city. He lives in Gaithersburg and suggested this hotel. It was the best thing to do!
Great hotel, with a bonus of indoor pool and pub/restaurant/bar.

Close enough to the Washington DC area to be able to visit it every day of our stay yet far enough to relax and enjoy the calm outside of the city.

Very easy access to DC by train or car.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelvinNichols, Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Greetings,

Thank you for your informational review of our hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing the Holiday inn Gaithersburg.

Sincerely,

The Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

I would go back and stay in this hotel if I visit DC again. It's about a 5 minute drive to the metro station, Shady Grove. Parking is free on the weekends at the station and if traveling during the week, the hotel offers a free shuttle every 30 minutes. Also, if you plan on touring the DC area, I recommend buying an all day metro pass for $9.00 as it came in handy for me.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelvinNichols, Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Hello,

Thanks for your review of our hotel the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg. We appreciate your review and look forward to serving you in the future. Thanks again.

Sincerely,

The Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaithersburg
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North - Gaithersburg
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington, DC North/Gaithersburg
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
#3 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg
2.6 mi away
HYATT house Gaithersburg
HYATT house Gaithersburg
#7 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
2.9 mi away
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gaithersburg

Address: 2 Montgomery Village Ave, Intersection of Rte 355 & Montgomery, Gaithersburg, MD 20879
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gaithersburg
#3 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
#3 Green Hotel in Gaithersburg
#3 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gaithersburg 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As they say, the best always want to get better, so we are making the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg a better place to Stay You! Look for a brand new restaurant coming soon! Welcome to the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, located in the heart of the I-270 High Tech Business Corridor northwest from the attractions of Washington, DC. Rockville, Germantown and Frederick are also nearby. IBM, Lockheed Martin, NIST, DOE and Hughes are within minutes of this Gaithersburg hotel, as are the Montgomery County Fairgrounds, Lake Forest Mall, Maryland Soccerplex, BlackRock Center for the Arts, and the Rockville and Cabin John Ice Rinks. The hotel offers free shuttle service within a 5-mile radius, including Rockville Amtrak and Shady Grove Metro stations.Corporate travelers will appreciate this Montgomery County hotel s 301 executive rooms with plenty of work space and extra amenities. All guest rooms feature free wireless & hard-wired high-speed Internet access. You'll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day! Business and leisure travelers alike will enjoy the indoor pool at our hotel. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center with whirlpool and sun patio. Enjoy American cuisine at the Village Park Cafe and Kids Eat Free! When it's time to unwind, O'Malley's Irish Pub is the place to enjoy your favorite beverage and a late night snack. We are also a pet-friendly hotel! Let the staff and outstanding service at the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg make your stay a memorable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.