We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington, DC North/Gaithersburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington, DC North/Gaithersburg to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington, DC North/Gaithersburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   805 Russell Avenue, Gaithersburg, MD 20879   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Enjoyed the large room with small kitchenette and work station. The room had all of the comforts for bringing snacks or take-out food back to enjoy eating in comfort. The hotel offered a welcome dinner each evening (that I didn't use) as well as a hot breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    3
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
7
1
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyde Park, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The property was recently re-branded to Homewood Suites so everything is fresh and new. The staff was very friendly and attentive and very professional. The location was very convenient to local shopping and highways.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed at this great new Homewood property over the past two weeks (while on a new job assignment in DC) and will definitely be back several more times over the coming months.

The hotel is brand new, having only opened at the beginning of April. I'm told the building was formerly a very run-down lower class hotel, but everything now is absolutely first-class; very clean & modern! The 2 queen bed studio rooms I have had were very pleasant, well laid out and spacious.

The staff is fantastic...extremely friendly and helpful. In particular, Eric, LaTonya and Natia in the dining area are great! They are always smiling and go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

If there is any downside, it is the food service here. While certainly adequate, the breakfast buffet & evening dinner is not nearly as good as at most other Homewood Suites I have stayed at over the years. The first week I was there hot oatmeal was available each morning, but by the second week this had disappeared, replaced by microwave packets. As noted by others the only fruit at breakfast has been canned peaches or pears; no fresh sliced fruit has been offered (though whole apples, oranges and bananas are generally available). Some days there have been pastries available and other days none have been out. At dinner, the entrees have been generally fine, but the sides and salad are weak and inconsistent. I would say that there is a definite need for someone with restaurant management experience and a flair for quality to help them improve the food offerings and presentations.

The hotel's location is excellent; close to a great variety of restaurants & shopping, several local bus lines and the Gaithersburg MARC commuter train station, which I use to get to/from my job on Capitol Hill.

For the all facilities and amenities offered, the room rates are an outstanding value. I look forward to returning often in the future!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pavan b, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington, DC North/Gaithersburg, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We’re absolutely elated that you enjoyed exceptional service from our staff, just as it should be! That is what we strive to provide. On behalf of Homewood Suites, kindly accept our sincere apologies for not being able to provide you the high standard of hospitality which is the general norm of our hotel. We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you because of this. We apologize fort our breakfast. We are currently going through a revamp of our menu, to service our guests in the future.

We hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, MD, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 3 nights in a brand new lovely hotel. Room design was lovely. Disappointed to find NO safe in our room. Breakfast was way below expectations. Too many people, too little staff and below average offerings. I am sure much is growing pains so I would stay again

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pavan b, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington, DC North/Gaithersburg, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Homewood Suites Gaithersburg, We apologoize about our breakfast and are trulysorry you were not satisfied with our offerings Thank you so much for bringing this unfortunate happenstance to our attention. We assure you we are doing everything we can to rectify this situation and to make sure it does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I really enjoyed our week stay at this hotel. The room was very clean and the service was great also. The workout facility is nice and they offer complimentary breakfast and dinner. Pool was still under construction during our stay but the spa is nice. Will definitely stay again when we come back to this area.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pavan b, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington, DC North/Gaithersburg, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We’re absolutely elated that you enjoyed exceptional service from our staff, just as it should be! That is what we strive to provide - with great enthusiasm and passion - each and every day. We wish you a wonderful summer, and we look forward to the chance to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

here was a youth group staying at the hotel and they were running around, loud and trying to buy food from the front desk. The manager on duty signed read, Paul Skees was on duty, but he was not in the building. It look us almost an hour to check into the hotel and because of this, no restaurants in the area were open. We then tried to purchase food from the front desk, making us wait another 30 minutes. I am sure, the hotel knew a large ground of student’s were going to be staying at the hotel and to not have a manager on the premises is crazy,

In the morning, the breakfast was a joke. We tried to eat at 8:00 am and the food was almost gone. What was available was disgusting and old looking. We had intended to stay, but could not eat the food. This was very disappointing, we had to spend money and time to east elsewhere.

This stay was by far the worst stay we have had in a Hilton brand hotel. We typically stay with Hilton because its service and reputation—this one definitely didn’t live up to the Hilton reputation.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pavan b, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington, DC North/Gaithersburg, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,

I was mortified to read your review and dismayed at what you experienced; thank you for bringing this to our attention. On behalf of all the staff, we apologize for any displeasure. I can assure you this is not consistent with our Hotel’s track record and I’m hopeful you will contact me personally at pavan.bhatia@baywoodhotels.com or (301) 670.0008 so that I can personally arrange for you to return to the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We love our stay in this hotel and will do it again any time need it, also used it as get away from home, our room was very spacious, very constrable, it feel like being at home but away from it, and once again we will be making reseervations again..... Love it

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pavan b, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington, DC North/Gaithersburg, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. I will be sure to share your comments with the team here. We pride ourselves on excellence in product quality and service and I am glad that we were able to have you as our guest. Our doors are always open, so when travel next brings you to the Gaithersburg area, please allow us to be your host again. We look forward to your next reservation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington, DC North/Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington, DC North/Gaithersburg

Address: 805 Russell Avenue, Gaithersburg, MD 20879
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#3 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington, DC North/Gaithersburg 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your home away from home at the new Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington, DC North/Gaithersburg. This all-suite Gaithersburg hotel is set in the business district near the Technology Corridor, shops and restaurants. Enjoy a quick ride from Washington D.C.'s Shady Grove Metro. Each suite features a full kitchen and separate living area. Start your day with complimentary hot breakfast and enjoy complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington, DC North/Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Wyndham Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington, DC North/Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.