We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under Construction yet not worth the stay.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   805 Russell Avenue, Gaithersburg, MD 20879   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Irvine
1 review
“Under Construction yet not worth the stay.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel website really needs to very clearly state first the fact that this property is being "renovated" and then list all of the inconveniences that occur as a result. The pool is closed and there is no fitness room or restaurant. There is apparently no place for housekeeping to store linens & towels, or their carts either. On each floor the linens & towels are being "stored" on portable racks by the elevator. The housekeepers leave their carts in the hall.
The walls are thin and you can hear other guests coming in and out of their rooms - people walking around above you, and talking in the hallway. The construction workers make a mess while they work, and a lot if noise if you're near the room they're working on - they do attempt to clean up when they leave. There is work going on 7 days a week and is expected to continue for at least another month. Overall the place looks dirty and very worn out (with rips in the fabric in the elevator, tears in the wallpaper at the seams) and clearly needs the renovation so with hope it will look better.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pavan b, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Georgieanne,

Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate it. As you have mentioned that this place does need massive renovation and that is exactly our sentiments, when we bought this hotel in DEC of 2013. The renovation will go on till March of 2015, We are in the midst of our construction. We certainly hope that on your next visit, you will choose to stay with us with our new amenities and new look of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    72
    75
    47
    34
See reviews for
85
27
28
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were not told about the construction when we made our reservation in May 2014. The staff has been great, very responsive to our needs. No fridge in room, but you can request one, which they bring promptly. Room was clean, AC was sufficient and the wifi reception was also good.

Bathroom on the other hand needs work. There is not a fan to vent steam, caulk around tub needs repair.

I would hold final judgement until renovation is complete.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pavan b, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Wyndham garden Hotel, kindly accept our sincere apologies for not being able to provide you the high standard of hospitality which is the general norm of our hotel. We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you because of this. We apologize for the miscommunication about our renovation. We are currently going through a massive renovation of our hotel, to service our guests in the future. We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I stay at this hotel frequently because the rate is very reasonable compared to nearby hotels.

The facility has been under renovation for over a year. Access to certain areas are shut off due to construction. Since I am not there during the day, I don't know how loud it might be during business hours.

The hotel is a few miles from Shady Grove metro and a shuttle is available. The hotel advertises a pool, but it is closed due to construction work. Same for the gym. I have heard guests have access to the Hampton Inn facilities down the road but I have not tried them myself.

I have noticed that some bedding is showing wear and usually doesn't fit mattresses well.

Parking and internet are free.

It is not a resort destination, but it is clean and inexpensive when a good night's sleep is the goal.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pavan b, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We’re absolutely elated that you enjoyed exceptional service from our staff, just as it should be! That is what we strive to provide - with great enthusiasm and passion - each and every day. We wish you a wonderful summer, and we look forward to the chance to host you again in the future. We appreciate your patience and understanding, while we are under renovation and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The hotel was under construction - was not told of this when booking. No pool access, no work out room - was in Maryland for sporting event with my son/team - no where for boys to swim or even gather together. There were persons of questionable motives loitering by front doors every time we came/went to games - they were often smoking so we were treated to their second hand smoke. Elevators were torn apart, slow and usually full of construction workers. If a hotel cannot maintain quality control during construction, it should close during the renovations.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pavan b, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Meredith,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this TripAdvisor survey. It is only as a result of people like you that we are able to review our product quality and overall service. We are in the midst of renovating our hotel exterior and the project will continue into the spring of 2015. We do this for the overall aesthetic beauty for all of our customers. I apologize that you found the exterior unacceptable. It is work in progress and it is a necessary process to maintain our hotel. I truly hope we can be of service to you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg

Address: 805 Russell Avenue, Gaithersburg, MD 20879
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Wyndham, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Wyndham Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.