We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that bad!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   805 Russell Avenue, Gaithersburg, MD 20879   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not that bad!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Me & my husband stayed at this hotel for a week last October. After reading all the reviews about the hotel, I totally had prepared myself for the worst experience ever, but both of us were happy after seeing the room that we've been given. The room was very spacious and well-decorated, bed was a comfy and the bath was clean. We did not eat at the hotel, so i can not comment on their foods. I would say its a good choice for the budget travelers, whether they are on business or leisure.

Room Tip: You can use the hotel's shuttle for getting to the metro station as many times as you want, from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pavan b, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We’re absolutely elated that you enjoyed exceptional service from our staff, just as it should be! That is what we strive to provide - with great enthusiasm and passion - each and every day. We wish you a wonderful summer, and we look forward to the chance to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    72
    75
    48
    34
See reviews for
85
27
28
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This is the first and last time I will ever stay here! WiFi tests at 0.5mb - worthless! Good thing I have a MiFi. No channel guide in the room, had to ask for one at front desk. No Fox News, A&E or even History ch. The entire north 1/2 of the hotel is blocked off for construction as of 2-5-14 which means no pool, no laundry, no fitness center. I wish I had coughed up a couple extra bucks and stayed at the Hampton again. Perhaps this place will be ok once all the construction is done, but that's not a chance I am willing to take!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGG-DOS, Director of Sales at Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
I am sorry that your experience was poor. Modifications to a builidng that is open 24/7 is a difficult task to acheive with out some level of disturbance. Our staff is committed to providing excellent service and are preparing options for guests who would still like to work out. The internet has been challenging over the last week with the ice storms, and we are hoping our service provider will do better to meet the needs of our guests.

We do hope that you will keep an eye out for us as we move forward with the modifications to elevate the guest experience, and will give us another chance later down the line.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Sure the place has the amenities of a three star restaurant, but they don't work or are in disrepair.

-Two rooms, neither of the coffee machines worked.
-Internet was spotty at best. Frequently couldn't connect.
-The sauna and hot tub are closed in the winter.
-The temperature in the fitness facilities are unregulated, and the fitness room looks disgusting.
-Upholstery ripped in the elevators.
-Hallway floors not regularly swept.
-The iron in my room had melted fabric on it that ruined my nice clothes. Housekeeping, CHECK THE IRON.
- No microwaves or refrigerators in the rooms. You can request them but will be put on a waiting list.
-Management: What are you doing putting the only microwave right there at the lobby entrance? What kind of a first impression is walking into the smell of somebody's left overs or burnt popcorn? WHY ARE YOU SELLING POPCORN RIGHT THERE? That setup is a very poor marketing decision.

The only reason I gave it two stars instead of one is because the price wasn't too bad. But I'm sure there's a better deal to be found. I doubt the reconstruction they're currently undergoing will make any improvement on poor upkeep and management decisions.

The staff at the front desk were altogether polite.

Room Tip: Ask for a place with a good internet connection. It'll be a poor connection, but better than mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGG-DOS, Director of Sales at Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. I apologize that you had so many difficulties with your stay. We understand that there are some challenges that we are working to eleviate. We have had to close the fitness area completely due to a pipes that have been effected by the extremely cold weather.

As the new owners - we are in the process of further inspecting the building and determining the best route to take in order to guarantee guest satisfaction. I apologize that this will take some time. We agree that the microwave placement is not ideal and we will be evaluating that with the discussion of public area flow.

I can guarantee - we are committed to provide quality accomdations, and we ask for you understanding as we move forward with determine our staffing and property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg

Address: 805 Russell Avenue, Gaithersburg, MD 20879
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Wyndham Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.