We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Three Stars” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   805 Russell Avenue, Gaithersburg, MD 20879   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #13 of 15 hotels in Gaithersburg
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not Three Stars”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Sure the place has the amenities of a three star restaurant, but they don't work or are in disrepair.

-Two rooms, neither of the coffee machines worked.
-Internet was spotty at best. Frequently couldn't connect.
-The sauna and hot tub are closed in the winter.
-The temperature in the fitness facilities are unregulated, and the fitness room looks disgusting.
-Upholstery ripped in the elevators.
-Hallway floors not regularly swept.
-The iron in my room had melted fabric on it that ruined my nice clothes. Housekeeping, CHECK THE IRON.
- No microwaves or refrigerators in the rooms. You can request them but will be put on a waiting list.
-Management: What are you doing putting the only microwave right there at the lobby entrance? What kind of a first impression is walking into the smell of somebody's left overs or burnt popcorn? WHY ARE YOU SELLING POPCORN RIGHT THERE? That setup is a very poor marketing decision.

The only reason I gave it two stars instead of one is because the price wasn't too bad. But I'm sure there's a better deal to be found. I doubt the reconstruction they're currently undergoing will make any improvement on poor upkeep and management decisions.

The staff at the front desk were altogether polite.

Room Tip: Ask for a place with a good internet connection. It'll be a poor connection, but better than mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGG-DOS, Director of Sales at Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. I apologize that you had so many difficulties with your stay. We understand that there are some challenges that we are working to eleviate. We have had to close the fitness area completely due to a pipes that have been effected by the extremely cold weather.

As the new owners - we are in the process of further inspecting the building and determining the best route to take in order to guarantee guest satisfaction. I apologize that this will take some time. We agree that the microwave placement is not ideal and we will be evaluating that with the discussion of public area flow.

I can guarantee - we are committed to provide quality accomdations, and we ask for you understanding as we move forward with determine our staffing and property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    72
    75
    47
    34
See reviews for
85
27
28
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

When we arrived I noted the moving vans, sparse holiday decorations and general run down atmosphere. Upon questioning, the front desk clerk told me that the hotel had been sold that week and was in the process of being renovated into suites, hence the moving vans. Since we were visiting family, we spent very little time at the hotel. The room was clean and the staff friendly. The mattress was very good. The heating system was loud and uneven. The shower needed to run for some time before hot water was received. It was obvious the hotel is in transition. Hopefully the new owners will invest in the hotel. It is in a very convenient location, close to major highways and malls.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGG-DOS, Manager at Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for your response. We are very excited about the new ownership and look forward to all the changes ahead, however many of these plans are still in the works and only in a discussion phase. We hope to have a preliminary update available in the coming months. We assure you that throughout any changes, our staff will continue to focus on the needs of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feasterville Trevose
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

If you want to stay at a aged Motel this is the place. Smells as soon as you enter the main entrance. Our room was a dissaster, basically a lab for mold spores would of been a better description. ery unhealthy envirorement andthey saidthat they could not move us or refund my deposit because we did not want another room, we left the Motel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg

Address: 805 Russell Avenue, Gaithersburg, MD 20879
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 hotels in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Wyndham Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.