We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   805 Russell Avenue, Gaithersburg, MD 20879   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel windows need to be clened on the outside. The room I stayed in on the 6th floor the view was nice but had streaks on the outside of the window. The hotel itself is very nice. The women at the front desk was nice and helpful. I didn't use the whirlpool or gym so I cannot sayanything about that. It is in a nice location watch out though cause you can miss it when you are driving on russell ave. The room was nice and comforting the A/c was running when I arrived so the room was at a perfect temperature. The bathroom was nice and clean. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay on the 6th floor you have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    72
    75
    48
    34
See reviews for
85
27
28
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

The hotel is older, and feels like it has just given up. We booked through Hotwire, as a listed 3-star hotel for a weekend away. Advertised pools and fitness centers were old, rusty, and had absolutely no climate control, making working out impossible. Though belied by the website, the pool is outdoor and was not accessible for use. There is an indoor hot-tub, but it was quite unkempt, looked abandoned, and was definitely not fit for use for a family with a small child. The stairway leading to it was also dark, with peeling paint throughout the hallway. The staff just appeared tired and disinterested. While no pack and play available, even linens for the pullout were not easy to get (we were first told we could not have them brought to the room, though someone eventually did). The room otherwise was fine with a working thermostat, and clean, though somewhat old. Overall, it was equivalent to a Comfort or a Days Inn, which would have been fine for road trip, but not what was advertised and planned for a weekend away. Disappointed. Both in Hotwire, as well as this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I gave this hotel a 5 out of 10 because the staff was excellent. Our room, however, left a great deal to be desired. It was not refurbished and the bathroom was old. As a Wynham Rewrds member, this hotel was disappointing. Suggestion: request a new room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I can tell this hotel is not new. But they are working hard to keep it clean. The room is big washroom is clean as well. I am very impress about the bed and linen. Very comfortable and clean! Not indoor swimming pool and the gym is very very old and need to go up and down the stairs to get there. (Not the best)

Overall, good for it's price. You will get a goodnight sleep but don't expect too much.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

The hotel is in a great location. It is very clean and the room is pretty spacious. The business center is located in the main lobby. The computer is extremely slow. However, it is free to use to computer and to print. The fitness center is lacking tremendously. I would stay in this hotel again because it is a great value for what you pay for. I slept like a baby. It is not perfect but it is a great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On The Road
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

This is an "OK" property - not stellar in terms of the look and feel, however I rated it as Very Good because the rooms are in great shape, recently updated, and are well worth the price paid.

However, let's talk about the tarnished elevators in desperate need of elbow grease to bring the shine back to the brass.
The carpet in the halls and in elevator lobbies is in desperate need of replacement. Runs, loose threads, bare patches, and just too much wear and tear to be attractive.

With that being said - the hotel's location is prime. It is close to the Lakeforest Mall, I-270, and tons of other things that make this property a great location for a business stay, or a leisure stay on a budget.

I have traveled in the area for work for around 5 years now - and I did not know this property existed. It's a little tough to find without a GPS.

I had never stayed at a hotel that had Starbucks/Panera/Airport style chairs (with swing away desk and electrical outlets built into the chair) it made working in the room very convenient!

The Wi-Fi was fast, the parking is free, and breakfast is available for a small charge in the lobby (under $10.00 I think).

GREAT Mattress and linens - I slept very well!

Is it the BEST hotel in the area? No, but is it one of the most budget friendly and conveniently located? YES!

I would recommend this hotel to a friend or family member.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Bluff, MO
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed here for four nights while visiting our daughter in Rockville for Thanksgiving. The decor is a little tired here and could use a facelift, but the room, hotel, grounds, and common areas were clean, and for $55.00 per night it was far and away the most reasonable premium hotel in the area. Staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel was quiet, the bed was extremely comfy, and the shower was good--plenty of pressure and hot water. The hotel is located just about a block from a large shopping mall, something one of us enjoyed.

Breakfast was not included but a breakfast buffet was available for $10.00. My advice is to skip it. There is a Dunkin' Donuts within a half block or so with much better fare than the rubber scrambled eggs and chewy bacon. Other fast food places and restaurants are not far away, either.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGG-DOS, Director of Sales at Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you for the acknowledgement of our friendly staff. We are very fortunate to have a great team here to serve our guests. I will pass on your comments regarding breakfast to our Food and Beverage team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg

Address: 805 Russell Avenue, Gaithersburg, MD 20879
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Wyndham Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.