We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay near Washington DC.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Shady Grove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16216 Frederick Road, Gaithersburg, MD 20877   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Gaithersburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great place to stay near Washington DC.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

This was a great place for us to stay. We went to the National Zoo and the Smithsonian. The pool was very refreshing. The free breakfast in the morning was better than most that I have ever had at a hotel. I really liked the waffles! The shuttle to and from the Metro station was very handy. I never moved my car for our entire stay. There are restaurants right there within a block and a gas station/convenient store right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    75
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
97
58
26
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

We had such a wonderful stay. The Front Desk staff was exceptional. They were very helpful by giving detailed directions to our various destinations and traveling with kids we truly appreciated it.

The hotel itself was very beautifully maintained. Their pool was perfect for our kids and they had something that I have not seen at any other hotel I have stayed in. They had a picnic area which was great allowing our kids to run around. The rooms were kept very clean and the housekeeping staff was always smiling. Breakfast was a delightful treat. They had an assortment of food set up for us in the mornings. It truly was one of the best hotel experiences we have had. Great hotel for the price.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

My colleagues and I enjoyed our stay. The staff was very freindly. I highly recommend this hotel to any business travelers.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Great price. Good location, given the close proximity to the Metro station. Shuttle service is a great amenity, but van needs to be bigger--lots of people use it. One day we walked to the station--wasn't a bad walk. Computer availability is a perk, but there is only one--lots of kids on it when we were there. Has a guest laundry, but it's only 2 washers & 2 dryers--not quite enough to go around for the whole hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms are older but very clean. Pool was great--would be great if it closed at dusk instead of 8PM (still plenty of light in July). Breakfast was great--a very big selection, more than the usual (even for the deluxe) at the Comfort Inns. Was there on a Tuesday for the Manager's Reception from 5:30PM to 7PM--beer, wine, soda, hot appetizers--very nice! Definitely an older hotel, but well worth the price--we will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Fla.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

We stayed two night over the 4th of July weekend. The rate was very good for Washington DC. We were given a room on the top floor which was very nice. Even though the hotel is in the city and on a busy highway, it was quiet. We used the shuttle to the metro stop and it was fine. (Note, the metro parking lot are free on weekends, you can park your car and not have to rely on the shuttle). The breakfast was very good for a free hotel breakfast, nothing fancy but better than most. There is a local pizza/submarine place next door which is good for a quick meal.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

We stayed in July 2009 and the staff was there for our every need. They have a shutlle if your going to the Metro to go into DC. Metro station is only a few minutes away by car or shuttle. Our rooms were very nice clean and it was quiet.
The morning free breakfast had a large selection of doughnuts, muffins, fruit, juices, eggs,cereal and they had a great make your own waffle maker and more in a large room with great decor and tv. The pool and park in the back was very nicely landscaped. There are places to eat within walking distance that are family friendly. We got a pamplet from the desk for Capital City Sightseeing which picked us up ($48.00
per person) at the hotel and drove us to Arlington where we had time to walk and see the changing of the guard and then on to all the memorials with a stop at the old post office for lunch. We were the only people on our tour so it was like having our own personal driver for the day. We took a trip through Georgetown and then the drive brought us back to the hotel it was about an 7 tour. This was an excellent way to cover a lot in one da yand we loved our drive Madood. Taking the Metro was really safe and it was easy to get to The Smithsonian. We really loved everything about this location in the suburbs but good location to access DC. Love, Loved Loved it! Hats off to the staff they were the nicest I have ever encountered at a hotel. Oh year and we only pd $87.00 per night what a steal!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

I chose this hotel after reading other good reviews. They were right. Great place (after we found it - GPS was being uncooperative). It was clean and comfy. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel is about a mile from the Shady Grove station of the Red Line, but the hotel provides a free shuttle. FYI - the shuttle is a six-passenger van, and is first come, first served. We watched one guy make a fool of himself by throwing a fit because he had to wait for the shuttle.

The only slight negative was a wimpy flush on the toilet. Made me chuckle at the "help us save water by re-using towels" signs when it took multiple flushes to clear the bowl, but otherwise, a great place. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Shady Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Address: 16216 Frederick Road, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#1 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Shady Grove 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven stroy brick building with interior corridors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Shady Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shady Grove Hotel Gaithersburg
Shady Grove Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Shady Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.