We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Shady Grove to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16216 Frederick Road, Gaithersburg, MD 20877   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Elkhart
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great for DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We had a coupon but they wouldn't honor it because it wasn't a weekend. But the person was very nice and gave us a discount anyway pretty much close to what the coupon was for. The room was very lovely and clean, it was quiet, you didn't hear a bunch of noise when people walk down the halls. The breakfast was very nice and all was very tasty. Even though we checked out the next day, they offered to let us use their shuttle from the hotel to the Metro and then they came and picked us up as well even though we weren't spending another night there. It made a very comfortable trip for us. We were nervous about DC anyway, but they gave us detailed descriptions on what to do and where to go and having the shuttle back and forth was very nice. Thank you for all you did.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    76
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
98
60
26
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed here before heading into D.C. used metro, was able to use hotel shuttle to and from metro .Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good for hotel breakfast .Room was very nice as well. Would stay there again .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadview Heights, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

A free shuttle to/from the metro station (~5 min ride to station and ~another 30 min to downtown), a free breakfast, flat screen tv, and refigerator and microwave in room. I am a mom and stayed with two teenage girls and they loved the breakfast which had many options. The service was fine, the room was clean and the manager was extremely accommodating when I paid with the wrong credit card! Compared to other hotels in the same category but closer to DC, which were unbelievably more expensive, this hotel is fantastic!
I would stay there again if I return to the area. If you are a walker you can walk to/from metro station but the roads are main and congested with traffic so it may not be an ideal walk for many. The area seemed safe (there is a big mall close), we felt safe at the hotel and at the metro station (as safe as you can at any metro station). I almost booked another hotel (in VA) because it was slightly cheaper then I read a review by two women that did not even stay after cheking in because they felt unsafe.
For the price and our needs this was the best bang for our buck!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This hotel offers a package that includes a $40 gift card to a local restaurant as well as metro passes for all in your party. This made our stay worthwhile. There is free shuttle service to the metro which is a 3 minute car ride. From the Shady Grove metro, it is about a 35 minute ride to the Smithsonian stop(with a transfer) at Metro Center. The included breakfast is standard hotel fare, but was good. The hotel is currently remodeling the exterior, so there is a lot of outside activity. Our room(301) was clean, but a little dated. The sink leaks on the underside, and we told the hotel staff...hopefully, it'll be fixed when you stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We wanted to visit DC and decided to look for a hotel along the metro line. Much less expensive than staying closer to the city. This hotel had it all: free metro shuttle ( on demand- just call when you want to be picked up) free parking, and free breakfast. The rooms were clean and spacious, and the pool was delightfully refreshing after a long day of walking in the city. I would definitely stay here again a and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Spent only one night at this Comfort Inn, but found the property in excellent condition. The clerk was friendly and welcoming and check in was trouble free. The room was comfortable and very clean. The bed comfortable. Everything in the room worked except one lamp. I will definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duchesne, Utah
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My husband had surgery and this hotel was recommended by our Dr. We were not disappointed. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. After my husband's surgery he needed more to prop himself up when he slept they brought them up no problem.
We checked in on a Tuesday and there was a customer reception in the lobby with meat, cheese, fruit, bread, beer, wine and water.
They offer a free shuttle to and from the metro which was only a 5 minute ride away.
Next to the hotel is a very good Mexican Restaurant that I highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Shady Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Address: 16216 Frederick Road, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#1 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Shady Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven stroy brick building with interior corridors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Shady Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shady Grove Hotel Gaithersburg
Shady Grove Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Shady Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.