We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Shady Grove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16216 Frederick Road, Gaithersburg, MD 20877   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Gaithersburg
Ashtabula, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Marvelous Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Wonderful staff, very clean, great breakfast selection, free shuttle service to the Metro station. Excellent neighborhood location, felt completely safe walking to the excellent restaurants nearby - I will definitely be making this my "temporary home" on my next DC vacation!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    73
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
93
57
26
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This was one of our best hotel stays ever! Loved the room, the breakfast, but the very best part was the staff. They were friendly, helpful and caring, especially the manager - Richard - he went above and beyond even giving our car a jump when our battery was dead! My husband and I can't say thank you enough. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat!
Diane & Gary Wegner

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I stayed here for two nights on a recent business trip to Washington, D.C. The staff was great both at check-in and check-out. The hotel was clean, the breakfast was great and the room was comfortable and had everything I needed for my staff. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who doesn't want to stay in D.C. but wants to be close. It also offers complimentary shuttle service to and from the Metro which is also great.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one week recently. We found it very good in all aspects. Staff appear to be very experienced in their job and always willing to help when required. Continental breakfast was good with decent varieties. Room was clean and facilities were good. Free and fast Wi-fi and free local phone calls was very useful to us. There was a even free coffee machine in the room with all the bits required for a refreshing filter coffee. The price included access gym and swimming pool which we didn't use. I used the business room to use computer and printer which was also not charged. Even unlimited drop and pick ups from nearest Metro station was also free. We enjoyed staying in this hotel and would love to stay there again when visiting that part of the world. Will recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneida, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Reserved 2 rooms through AAA at a reasonable price for a great facility. We choose this hotel based on other positive reviews and its proximity to the Metro. Check-in was quick & efficient. Facility was very clean. Staff were always attentive and willing to provide information. Shuttle to Metro station was good and the driver provided information on the area. Breakfast was plentiful and filling. There were restaurants, a convenience store, a drug store, a bank, and gas station adjacent to the site. Would recommend to anyone wishing to tour the DC area but wanting to avoid the down town congestion and expenses.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Our recent stay was wonderful. The staff was very professional , the hotel room clean, breakfast -delicious...............just an all around excellent experience. Plus ample no problem;free parking. We drove straight down the same street to get to our destination: NIH. Took about fifteen minutes and was easy to find since it required no turns. And to top it off.......... Dunkin Donuts is right next door. Will stay again! Thanks for an A+ stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed here four nights with my beagle. They only charged $15 per night for the pet fee, no up-front fee in addition, which is much better than most places. There is a big and well-lit yard to walk dogs. I felt perfectly safe walking my dog, even at night (I am a young female). The room was nice and very clean - the bed was comfortable, there was a small fridge & microwave, the bathroom was big with lots of countertop space. Everyone at the front desk was extremely nice and accomodating. It's a bit more expensive than other motel chains (but not by much) but for the safety and comfort that I had while staying here, it was totally worth it. If I am in the area again I will definitely be staying here.

I cannot comment on the restaurant or room service because I did not utilize them.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Shady Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Address: 16216 Frederick Road, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#1 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Shady Grove 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven stroy brick building with interior corridors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Shady Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shady Grove Hotel Gaithersburg
Shady Grove Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Shady Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.