We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five day stay and everything was great: amazing don't you think?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Shady Grove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16216 Frederick Road, Gaithersburg, MD 20877   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Alpha Ohio
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Five day stay and everything was great: amazing don't you think?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We picked this hotel because it is at the end of the Red Line which allowed us to avoid DC traffic for our five day visit. The hotel Shuttle was prompt and courteous all ten times we used it, regardless of time of day (within their operating hours). Our room was fine, WiFi good, ammeneties were fine, and the price seemed quite reasonable considering being in the greater DC area.

The clerks at the desk were most accommodating and the Shuttle drivers were very nice.

Room Tip: The breakfast never changes... not one item different from one day to the next... so if you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    75
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
98
58
26
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Ohio
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I've stayed in many Choice hotels over the past few years, and this one is one of the best. Check in was flawless and the staff was very nice. Our room was clean and everything worked great.

The hotel was quiet for being near two high-traffic roads. The staff helped us whenever we needed it such as giving us ideas of where to eat dinner or directions to the Metro station. I was highly impressed when the girl at the desk walked outside with us to point to the street when giving directions! The metro station is very convenient. We took the metro into DC every day.

Breakfast is the average hot and cold food buffet for Choice hotels. However, the staff really kept the place clean for the amount of traffic going through.

I am highly impressed with this hotel - service, staff, accommodations and price. When I return to DC, I will be staying at the Comfort Inn again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I must commend Richard at the CI Shady Grove for very prompt and professional service. The night prior, I received absolutely no sleep at a non-related supposedly "higher end" property in town. I wanted out of that other hotel as quickly as possible to get a few hours of sleep and shower/dress for a meeting. I phoned the Comfort mid morning and told Richard the situation and asked if there was any availability that night and if there was any way possible for an early check in. Not only was he professional and friendly over the phone telling me to "come on over", he greeted me in person at the front desk and had my room all ready for me.

Now, beyond the friendly staff. The property was very clean. All common areas were fresh in appearance and well taken care of. There is a Dunkin Donuts and a Checkers adjacent to the hotel if you want a quick bite or a snack. TV selection was good with plenty of HD channels. Internet worked flawlessly. The bed was clean and comfortable. The room - very quiet. Breakfast was great.

This Comfort Inn deserves all of the awards it has received. Yes, it is a below $100 a night mid-tier hotel brand, but the management and staff at this location treat its guests and the property itself as if it were a five star hotel. Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: I was on the 7th floor in a corner room - no noise and the hotel appeared to be almost full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed 1 night on a recent business trip. I travel for business approximately 30 times a year. I considered this property a good value, clean ,well maintained, quite and safe. The room and bath were comfortable, well appointed. wifi dependable.Convienent to DC Metro and I270 corridor.
The staff was friendly and the included breakfast better then most. Have already booked a return visit.
Jeff56sales

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great location, near major roads but set back from them in a quiet location. Convenient access to the DC metro and hotel provides shuttle service. Cleanest bathroom I've seen in any hotel I've recently stayed at. Friendly staff. They provide a soft/firm pillow combination that is very comfortable. Nice array of foods provided at the complimentary breakfast. It was very hot outside but the room air conditioner handled it well. Front desk staff competently responded to our request for a quiet room. We appreciated having the very comfortable chair for reading.

Room Tip: The top floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed for two days for business. The hotel is big for a typical Comfort Inn, but the service is a GEM. I rode the metro and I called the hotel for direction and guidance; they quickly offered to pick us up on their shuttle. What a wonderful surprise. The hotel is located about 5 min from the metro. The lobby is beautiful, with decorations of their numerous awards. I mean numerous awards! The room was typical Comfort Inn style, with few minor updates on furniture. The television was new. The room was clean and comfortable. The AC worked like a charm. The lighting was a little low but adequate. The two days that we stayed, all of the staff went above and beyond their duties. I want to thank everyone there. Hope to see you again soon!

Room Tip: I was on the 7th floor and it was great. My room was facing south, which didn't really have any...
See more room tips
Green Features: I saw various Recycling bins (including in the room).
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed at this Comfort Inn for six nights while I was in town for work. The desk staff was always very friendly and extremely helpful. I definitely asked a lot of questions while I was there, and they always had an answer for me. I stayed on the 7th floor. The hallway seemed to have a funny smell to it, but my room was super clean and comfortable. The housekeeping team at this hotel do a wonderful job. The hotel isn't very close to sights or shopping, but a ten minute drive takes you to a nice shopping area (Rio?) with movie theaters and great restaurants. The hotel offers a shuttle, which I didn't use, but is a nice amenity.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Shady Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Address: 16216 Frederick Road, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#1 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Shady Grove 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven stroy brick building with interior corridors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Shady Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shady Grove Hotel Gaithersburg
Shady Grove Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Shady Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.