We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid accommodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Shady Grove to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16216 Frederick Road, Gaithersburg, MD 20877   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Splendid accommodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our recent stay at the Comfort Inn Shady Grove was most satisfactory. The hotel is conveniently located to I-270, a short distance from the C & O canal attrractions, as well as the DC Metro system (only a few blocks from the Shady Grove Station on the Red Line). We found the hotel exquisitely managed, notably clean and comfortably furnished, the breakfast bar fulsome, guest rooms nicely appointed, and all the staff – including the front desk – informed, helpful and accommodating. We observed a cross section of both business and tourist guests when we were there in the middle of the week. If you are looking for a place “close to DC” along the Maryland Bethesda-Frederick corridor you can do no better than the Comfort Inn at Shady Grove.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    79
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
100
62
26
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights there Everything and everybody where great. Will stay there every time I go to Washington DC Highly recommend loved the managers reception and the breakfast friendly service rooms had everything you needed my granddaughter used the exercise room every morning

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Again Thanks you Richard and staff for accommodating our needs for a King Non-smoking room. You made what could have been a very uncomfortable night a VERY NICE overnight stay.
Mr. Safai, Managing Partner, understands that it takes a committed and supportive staff to
make a guest's stay particularly notable.
The location of the franchise, although at first blush, might not seem the "best", guests soon
discover that the location is convenient and easily accessible.
Keep up the great work....
K. Miller

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was a great hotel to stop at in DC. It was close to the Metro and the hotel shuttle service worked flawless. If you don't mind walking about a mile you could do that also. The hotel its self was good. I would have given it 5 stars but the traffic noise at times was bothersome. The breakfast was very good and the breakfast area spacious compared to most hotels. The staff was friendly and always helpful with questions about DC. I would stay here again next time I am in Washington DC.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were in town for a lacrosse event for my son and stayed 3 nights. The staff was friendly from the time we arrived until we left. I asked the front desk one morning if the little gas station out front had ice and he wasn't sure but told me to just use their ice. Then I said I needed it for a cooler and did not want to use all their ice. He then said no problem just use ours. The housekeepers were always smiling and friendly. The breakfast was great. You could get anything from a doughnut to waffles. The dunkin doughnut was just a few steps away and when I asked the front desk if it were safe to walk there, they said yes. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentfield, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Traveling through the area we needed a place that was close to a metro station, had free breakfast and clean rooms all of which this Comfort Inn provided. The hotel provides shuttle service to the metro station and back which helps when you don't want to drive or take a taxi and it is only about a mile away. There are not a lot of good restaurants near by so you have to go a little ways to have a good meal. This is a hotel that has quite rooms and the beds are very comfortable.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a nearby lacrosse tournament. Room was small with 2 doubles, felt very cramped but clean Breakfast was free and basic, but staff was very busy keeping everything stocked and ready. Front desk helpful and friendly. Parking was tight especially if you come in late. Property was somewhat difficult to get in and out of, but not unreasonable. Would stay again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Shady Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Address: 16216 Frederick Road, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#1 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Shady Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven stroy brick building with interior corridors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Shady Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shady Grove Hotel Gaithersburg
Shady Grove Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Shady Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.