We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, convenient location, good price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Shady Grove to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16216 Frederick Road, Gaithersburg, MD 20877   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, convenient location, good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is an attractive, clean, friendly hotel within walking distance of the Shady Grove metro stop. We have stayed there several times and enjoyed the comfy, immaculate room, the cushy bedding, and the decent free breakfast. The staff is accommodating. There is clean, nice outdoor pool for the kids. The price is very good for the area. I recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    77
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
99
60
26
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Great staff, clean rooms. The out door pool has a life gaurd, and there's a good size "park" just for the guests (it was like a back yard). There is a shuttle, but I recommend having a car for that area. When I visit DC with the kids I will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

During our 3 night stay we found this to be a friendly and well run hotel. Its set-back position can make it difficult to find being directly off a road junction (initially we drove passed it). Our room was of a really good standard and contained a microwave and fridge. The free breakfast was appreciated and free parking was available. We used this hotel as a base for exploring Washington DC and surrounding area

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalimar, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Comfort Inn at Shady Grove (Gaithersburg, MD) for the first time April 30 - May 2, for both a nearby medical visit and for a pleasure visit to downtown D.C. Staff all were excellent. Room was accomodating and comfortable. On Tuesday eve, they had an enjoyable welcome reception with a pleasant, knowledgeable hostess. For our "tourist" part of the visit, a shuttle was provided from the hotel to the nearby Metro station--which in our opinion is a far superior way to arrive downtown than searching there for parking these days, but be sure to have enough change for the Metro. Several good restaurant options also within a short drive-- we chose Growlers of Gaithersburg (delightfully active grill/pub). If we are able to visit the D.C.area again, this will be our hotel choice-- "see you next time!"

Green Features: We appreciated their posted practices and also the two signs warning about nesting birds in nearby trees.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

You read all of the excellent reviews from the past and my comments echo those. Grounds & rooms were clean, staff was friendly and breakfast was great. Not a great location for off site eating, but there are a few nearby within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We usually stay at this hotel when in the area. It is always the same and maintained well. Breakfast is adequate and the rooms are good. The price is right and location is good for traveling by car or getting to the metro to head down to DC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

From the time of making the reservation to the moment we checked out our experience was top-notch. Every one of the hotel staff was warm, friendly, and accommodating. The room was immaculate and the breakfast delicious and plentiful. The lobby was warm and inviting also. It was necessary for us to use the business center, and were welcomed to do so, as well as actually given help by one of the staff who went out of the way for us. Located only 30 minutes from DC, it's the perfect location. We highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Shady Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Address: 16216 Frederick Road, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#1 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Shady Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven stroy brick building with interior corridors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Shady Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shady Grove Hotel Gaithersburg
Shady Grove Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Shady Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.