We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel to stay near Washington DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Shady Grove to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16216 Frederick Road, Gaithersburg, MD 20877   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Houston
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel to stay near Washington DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I was looking for a hotel near a metro station so to go to DC with the metro, not the car. Looking at all the other ones near a M station, prices were 250+$.

This one is walking distance from Shady Groove station (the end of the red line), is only 120$ avrg., and the hotel is great.

Plenty of restaurants around, delivery, and free shuttle to go to and come from the station.

You can still walk to the Metro, is about 1/2 mile, but the shuttle is there from 7am to 9pm, anytime you need it. Metro ride to Dupont Circle is about 25 minutes.

Breakfast is good, rooms are very pleasant, hotel is silent, cleaning staff does a great job, caring for the little details, like having the holder for the soap cleaned everyday.

So, if you want a fair priced hotel, with easy access to DC center, with places to eat around once the day is over, that's the natural choice.

Very please with it, I'm coming back here if I have a trip in the future to DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    79
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
100
62
26
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehall, Pa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Our experience was most wonderful, the staff were very helpful and friendly, the room comfortable and had most everything needed. They provided free transportation to the Metro, both ways. Would recomend this place to anyone wishing to visit DC or the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

After getting stuck in a 7 mile backup in the Virginia Beach area and enduring severe thunderstorms and traffic in DC, this was indeed a COMFORT Inn. The staff, public areas, and room could not have been better. The amenities were wonderful. It was a perfect oasis after a long day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I almost hate to give this one away, but it would not be fair to keep to myself. They go above and beyand to make your stay outstanding. Also, they are very much on top of customer service. Yolanda at the front desk is the best. All of the staff associated with this place are friendly and happy to assist you. Breakfast is included and Free Shuttle to the nearest Metro at your call.

Room Tip: Check with the front desk for additional savings on local place to dine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I picked this hotel because it has a free shuttle to the Metro Shady Grove Station, and because of other good ratings. We were not sorry. The only negative a lack of parking in their lot. The service was friendly, the place was clean, and the breakfast was good. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boydton, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was our first stay but we will definitely stay here again when visiting Washington DC. Free shuttle to the Shady Grove Metro stop (although on a nice day would be a nice walk), friendly staff - very helpful, clean rooms with lovely linens and duvet, great pillows and lots of them, new carpeting and bottled water in the room every day! Breakfast was good. Close enough to a great variety of restaurants and grocery stores (Whole Foods!) With the in room fridge and microwave we were set. Easy access to I-270.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise as the hotel is quite close to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have made numerous return stays to the Comfort Inn Shady Grove since my first visit, and I will continue to do so! The staff is very attentive and service is excellent. The rooms are very clean, too. One complaint I have is that since the rooms have doors on each side, you can hear into your neighbor's rooms. On my last visit, I had the misfortune of being placed near a middle school group who was very loud. Nevertheless, I think this is a great hotel at an even better price point.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Shady Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Address: 16216 Frederick Road, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
#1 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Shady Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven stroy brick building with interior corridors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Shady Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shady Grove Hotel Gaithersburg
Shady Grove Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Shady Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.