We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality on a budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Shady Grove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16216 Frederick Road, Gaithersburg, MD 20877   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quality on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was very impressed by this budget hotel. It's in a somewhat industrial area but as soon as you enter the lobby you can see that it's a cut above the rest. The small lobby area has been carefully designed and is both modern an very warm and welcoming. The staff on reception were friendly and helpful. The room was spacioius and bright. There is an excellent Indian restaurant (Minerva) in a little strip mall adjacent to the hotel - the food was superb, the best Indian food I have had in a long time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    76
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
98
58
26
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

NIce hotel. Room was clean and neat. Staff friendly and VERY helpful. Great breakfast. The shuttle driver was awesome! He took me to the Metro stop several times a day...always greeted me with a smile. I could not have asked for a nicer stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel was very clean and orderly and efficiently run. I must have asked the staff a milllion questions and must have made a dozen requests and they were polite and helpful in all instances. Most impressive, when i was at the metro and called for their shuttle the manager showed up in is own personal vehicle because the shuttle was tied up on a long run. Unheard of service and he was jsut as nice as could be about it.

Room Tip: I reserves on line and things could not have been smoother. There were about a hundred sightseeing k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livnim
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel staff was very professional and helpful from the reception desk to the maid service, the dining room staff and every employee you come into contact with. The hotel is clean and always being clean, the rooms are clean well equipped and well laid out. It would be difficult to find faults here. I would and will recommend this Comfort Inn to my friends, family, and work associates with no reservations.

Room Tip: Clean hotel clean rooms helpful and friendly staff good breakfast included parking no problem it wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okeechobee, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed at the Comfort Inn at Shady Grove because our daughter just had a baby. I called their local number and was helped over the phone by Yolanda Mendez who exceeded my expectations. She suggested a discount which was very helpful. I pleasantly found out that this Comfort Inn has amentities above and beyond what is normal for Comfort Inns. There was a live sprig of ivy in the bathroom! The breakfast was an array of almost anything you could think of...eggs, sausage, waffles, yogurt, bagels, english muffins, fresh donuts, cereal etc. Such a pleasant experience. We will definitely being picking this Comfort Inn in the future. I wish other Comfort Inns upheld the high standards that this establishment does.

Room Tip: If you are there because a relative is in the nearby hospital be sure to ask for the hospital discou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We always stay here and have never been disappointed. Rooms are nice, lots of breakfast choices free, close to metro to get into D.C. Best thing about this motel is the friendly service at the front desk. They have printed off maps for us, called the airport during a storm, and have made suggestions of where to shop or eat nearby. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Island, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Staff were friendly; room was very clean and comfortable; Tuesday evening Manager's Reception was very nice; with great hors d'oevres including both hot and cold, and some of it very healthy; free breakfast was excellent (good variety, good quality); wireless internet was fast (much appreciated -- I've been to hotels where wireless was painfully slow); free shuttle service to the Metro station and Montgomery Surgical Center (I was there for surgery), a couple good restaurants in the same large parking lot; both fridge and microwave in-room... the only thing I could find fault with was that once in awhile when showering, the water temperature would change, but not for long. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Shady Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Address: 16216 Frederick Road, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
#1 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Shady Grove 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven stroy brick building with interior corridors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Comfort Inn Shady Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shady Grove Hotel Gaithersburg
Shady Grove Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Shady Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.