We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economical alternative to downtown DC hotel prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Shady Grove to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16216 Frederick Road, Gaithersburg, MD 20877   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Western Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Economical alternative to downtown DC hotel prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is easily reached from I-270 and I-370 well away from the Beltway and related traffic. However, be sure to work out in advance the proper approaches and exit. The hotel is in a quiet location, even though adjoining the busy Fredrick Road. A room with king bed had good furnishings, desk, easy chair, adequate TV, bath with good fittings, towels, etc. An excellent bed, good linens, 6(!) pillows. Room was decently spacious and provided with microwave and fridge. A complimentary shuttle van to/from the Shady Grove metro station is available on demand and the service qualifies the hotel as a downtown alternative - the Metro route goes right through the heart of downtown DC (and Union Station) without transfers. There is a mini-mall adjoining the property with a Dunkin Doughnuts a convenience store and an Indian restaurant. Overall, the hotel is well maintained, an attractive lobby/breakfast room and the reception desk attended with well informed, helpful staff. A complaint: there is a charge of $1.06 per day for an in-room safe which is optional, but automatically charged - the management seems reluctant to point out this fact.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    87
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
116
64
26
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

For a small comfort inn, we were pleasantly surprised by the service-mined staff and comfortable rooms. The hotel is a notch above your "average" limited service property as evident by the Choice Hotel awards adoring the wall of the front desk, or the antique furniture in the lobby. We found our rooms comfortable (real plants on the bathroom counter!), and the staff very dedicated. The GM and the front desk clerk immediately took care of a problem we had with the room rate and exceeded our expectations on the spot, not to mention the restaurant recommendations, arranging for taxi service, etc. The location is great too, only a 15 minute walk to the metro, or let the hotel shuttle take you there if you prefer to ride. Easy access to Washington DC, for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunswick, ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It starts with easy access from the freeways. It is an easy walk to the metro station. My wife and I have stayed twice while visiting Washington and the rooms were clean and up to date and the staff was courteous and very helpful. This will be our hotel of choice when visiting D.C. which we like to do.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I like to walk and hate driving downtown so I picked this hotel because it was within walking distance of a Washington subway stop, in fact the final stop on the line at Shady Grove. The hotel was conveniently located very close to the highway coming in from out of town and was reasonably priced. Only negative for me was that I ended up in a room adjacent to a loud family with a baby and the walls seemed thin enough that I did have at least one interrupted sleep. I did not ask to be moved and the air conditioner in the room was loud enough to drown out that sound on the subsequent night. Nearby food options are a bit limited but there are decent delivery options. One small negative was that the gift/convenience shop in the lobby was closed mid-day, opposite to the stated hours, but hotel explained to me that the shop is privately owned and keeps unpredictable hours. Friendly people working here too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Beach, NC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed here while visiting D.C. and some friends that live nearby. Our room was clean and quiet and the desk staff were very helpful. The Hotel has a free shuttle to the Shady Grove Metro station, but we opted to walk since it was only about 15 mniutes away. The Metro ride to the heart of DC is about 40 minutes.

We would stay here again if we come back to the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Clean hotel, Very nice and attentive staff, good breakfast with more than average selection, location is close to metro with shuttle service, rate is good for the location and value, nothing left to say just filling up the required minimum characters

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester
Level Contributor
210 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The surrounding area of this hotel isn't great, so I was at first concerned about this hotel. The lobby and front desk are way above the normal Comfort Inn, so that was the first nice contrast. Elevator is fast. My room on the 7th floor was quiet in spite of the road noise. Constant speed fan on the AC unit helped a lot.

I slept like a baby.

The room is upscale and modern, with a nice desk area. Only gripe I have about the room is that there are no power outlets by the desk. I had to stretch the laptop cord across the bed.

I would come back here. Price is right, and the room quality is fantastic.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaithersburg
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North - Gaithersburg
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
#4 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington, DC North/Gaithersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
HYATT house Gaithersburg
HYATT house Gaithersburg
#7 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
5.1 mi away
EVEN Hotel Rockville
EVEN Hotel Rockville
#2 of 16 in Rockville
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Shady Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Address: 16216 Frederick Road, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gaithersburg
#2 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#3 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Shady Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven stroy brick building with interior corridors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Shady Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shady Grove Hotel Gaithersburg
Shady Grove Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Shady Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.