We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Shady Grove to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16216 Frederick Road, Gaithersburg, MD 20877   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

I traveled to the area with my family to visit family and friends. I very much enjoyed our stay. The rooms were very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. We spent our days in Washington, D.C. and came back to the hotel to relax and recuperate. Since my last visit, it seems that they have done more renovations. The bathrooms looked very beautiful and new. It's really nice knowing we get to stay at such a beautiful hotel without paying the big bucks!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    79
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
101
62
26
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

Why pay four times as much to stay in DC when you can stay here and hop on the Metro to get to the center of DC? Very helpful staff, spic and span rooms, close to several restaurants and a two minute free shuttle drive to the Metro.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

The reviews here have me really confused. I depend on TA, it's my bible for travel planning and my family knows I'm always referring to it. However, this hotel could not possibly rank as #1 in my books, even accounting for fact that it is a budget hotel-- we booked two rooms and had to run to an event, so after a quick check in, when the first room smelled not only musty but had a faint odor of urine, we changed to another. The desk clerk was very nice about it and seemed surprised at the request. But when we came back at night, the stains on carpet, and a large bug in my make-up case had all of us in agreement (two teenage kids also) that we should just make the 4 hour drive back home. I can't remember a time I have not stayed in a room, let alone two that I have paid for. The price was relatively cheap for DC environs but we learned a hard lesson with 180 bucks down the tube. We stayed the night before at the DC Hilton near Dupont, which was lovely and spotless, and wished we had just stayed there a second night. The best thing I can say is that the front desk seemed like they were cordial, but these rooms are sorely in need of cleaning and renovation.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISG, Managing Partner at Comfort Inn Shady Grove, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Dear Ms. Mandoline:

I am very saddened to hear about your experience with us during your short visit. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered. I am surprised to hear about your experience; latter part of 2010 we under went extensive renovations through out the property and we have won numerous awards for the cleanliness of our property, thus I am very perplexed about your concerns. Please call me directly, where I can look into this further. Thank you again for sharing your comments about our hotel.

Sincerely,

Vira Safai, CHA
Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for six days to visit the city of Washington. The staff at the hotel treat you as family and are some of the friendliest I have encountered on my many trips. In fact, I can't think of any as friendly. The hotel is comfortable, clean and well run and the included breakfast was excellent and plentiful.
The hotel supplies a free shuttle to the Metro station (5 mins away) and picks up with a phone call on your return. In fact one night we were about 1/2 hour later than the shuttle runs but they still picked us up. The station is the first on the blue line so you always get a seat and it only takes about 30 mins to downtown.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone vivsiting Washington on a budget--------the price is right ------the service is excellent!!!!

Room Tip: Don't miss it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, IN
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

This is the perfect place to stay if visiting Washington DC. It is clean, friendly & helpful staff, great breakfast with eggs, sausage gravy and biscuits, waffles, and all the regular things Chioce Hotels offer. There is a nice size refrigerator & microwave where we could store & cook our travel food. They offer a free shuttle to the Metro and then we took the trolley in DC and you can hop on & off when you want to see somthing. It was a wonderful stay and we will be back when we return to finish what we started to see in DC as our 3 day stay wasn't long enough.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

We planned a last minute family trip to DC and couldnt find a hotel that was reasonably priced. So, we searched outside DC and I saw all the favorable reviews for this hotel. It is an incredible value for what you get....rooms were clean, service was exceptional, breakfast was included (even a 'make your own' belgium waffle machine), the Metro to DC was extremely convenient (and the hotel even provides free shuttle service there and back if you wish), and the surrounding area is quite nice. The hotel staff guided us to a local village/boardwalk type area for dinner one night....a nice lake and great restaurants. My boys (ages 6 and 9) had a great time riding the Metro into DC every day....it made the trip a bit more fun for us. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

It's hard to get an inexpensive hotel in DC during parents week at GW, so we ended up all the way out in Gaithersburg (but near the Metro) at the Comfort Inn. The reviews were right — this is a great place. It was almost like a studio apartment with a half-size fridge, a microwave, and a little coffee pot. I liked the spacious counter in the bathroom where you could spread out toiletries and cosmetics. There is no drugstore or grocery nearby, but fortunately the hotel has very reasonably priced vending machines with name-brand sodas and snacks. The do-it-yourself continental breakfast is adequate, and I liked it that they had hardboiled eggs for protein in addition to all the breads, cereals, and pastries. The shuttle to and from the Shady Grove metro is always available, and the staff were responsive to all our requests and extremely gracious. My only quibble? Really annoying toilet paper holders -- the rolls kept flying off and rolling across the bathroom!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Shady Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Address: 16216 Frederick Road, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
#1 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Shady Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven stroy brick building with interior corridors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Shady Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shady Grove Hotel Gaithersburg
Shady Grove Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Shady Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.