We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O'Donnell's Sea Grill - CLOSED

O'Donnell's Sea Grill
311 Kentlands Blvd, Gaithersburg, MD 20878-5447
301-519-2550
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Great Seneca Highway
Description: O'Donnell's Sea Grill is one of the Washington, DC area's premier seafood restaurant. Owned and operated by the O'Donnell family for over 80 years, O'Donnell's Sea Grill carries on the tradition of offering renowned Norfolk-style dishes, signature crab cakes, and fresh Maine lobster, as well as steaks, chicken, pasta and fresh-made soups and salads. Our on-premise bakery prepares mouth-watering lemon meringue pie, key lime pie, cheesecake, and O'Donnell's Sea Grill famous Rum Buns every day. Open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner, come see why O'Donnell's Sea Grill, enjoyed by generations of Washington area residents and out-of-towners, is the landmark seafood restaurant in Montgomery County.
USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have eaten at O'Donnell's for years. When O'Donnell's moved from Bethesda to Gaithersburg, I continued to enjoy the seafood and rum buns . I recently craved softshell crabs and they had them. I enjoyed the soft shell crab BLT al fresco. Yummy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    31
    20
    13
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Go before they close last day 7/27/13!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

O'Donnell's Sea Grill has been a family favorite of ours for many years. I grew up going there with my parents (Bethesda when it was open), and continued the tradition in the Gaithersburg location with my own kids. If you have never been, GO. NOW. The owner is retiring and rather than sell, he is closing the doors for good on July 27th, 2013. This restaurant is a seafood gem. There are no bad choices here, from the seafood they saute, to the raw bar selection to the fresh steamers or house specialties. And I dare you, no I double dog dare you not to eat at least two basket of the rum buns, and ask for extra to take home. BEST BUNS EVER. There is a train that quietly circled the hostess stand upon a shelf. In the dinning room there is a treasure chest where little diners get to choose a top after dinner on their way out. They have both indoor and outdoor seating.

Still not sure? Jost go. Make a reservation, and go. But do it now because if you love it, and I can guarantee this is a better meal than something cookie cutter like Bonefish, then you will want to go again. And you only have until July 27th. This gem, will be sorely missed by our family.

p.s. my father lost his sight many years ago. It became hard to shop for him. He had just about every book you could imagine on tape. He lived in Louisiana at the time. The restaurant sold me fresh rum buns, which he adored and sorely missed.....I sent them via FedEx. He was over the moon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were looking for an authentic Maryland Crab Cake. We found it and a lot more. We sat on the patio and the view was nice and the food was great. It's just too bad they are closing in July 2013.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“...but it's closing soon !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I probably eat at O'Donnell's two to three times a year. The food and service in the main dining room are consistently good. I usually have the fish special and have rarely been disappointed. You could count on it being a pleasant event. That being said, my reason for the review is the bar; specifically the bartender - Steve. He is the consumate mixologist; friendly, engaging with upbeat conversation, remembers you (even if he really doesn't) and effortly does a professional meal set up at the bar while simultaneously bantering with several customers! Oh, and he can mix a proper libation the proper way! Bartenders like Steve are a rarity in my area. So stop by and enjoy Steve's mastery while you can!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best tuna I've had and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Quite a traditional restaurant in atmosphere. Probably the best service we've had allowing for a relaxed meal. I had the pan seared sesame tuna and it was the best I've had. One tip is if you aren't a great fan of wasabi, let them know! I'll go back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Donnell's Sea Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Donnell's Sea Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.