We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...but it's closing soon !!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O'Donnell's Sea Grill - CLOSED

O'Donnell's Sea Grill
311 Kentlands Blvd, Gaithersburg, MD 20878-5447
301-519-2550
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Great Seneca Highway
Description: O'Donnell's Sea Grill is one of the Washington, DC area's premier seafood restaurant. Owned and operated by the O'Donnell family for over 80 years, O'Donnell's Sea Grill carries on the tradition of offering renowned Norfolk-style dishes, signature crab cakes, and fresh Maine lobster, as well as steaks, chicken, pasta and fresh-made soups and salads. Our on-premise bakery prepares mouth-watering lemon meringue pie, key lime pie, cheesecake, and O'Donnell's Sea Grill famous Rum Buns every day. Open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner, come see why O'Donnell's Sea Grill, enjoyed by generations of Washington area residents and out-of-towners, is the landmark seafood restaurant in Montgomery County.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“...but it's closing soon !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I probably eat at O'Donnell's two to three times a year. The food and service in the main dining room are consistently good. I usually have the fish special and have rarely been disappointed. You could count on it being a pleasant event. That being said, my reason for the review is the bar; specifically the bartender - Steve. He is the consumate mixologist; friendly, engaging with upbeat conversation, remembers you (even if he really doesn't) and effortly does a professional meal set up at the bar while simultaneously bantering with several customers! Oh, and he can mix a proper libation the proper way! Bartenders like Steve are a rarity in my area. So stop by and enjoy Steve's mastery while you can!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    31
    20
    13
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best tuna I've had and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Quite a traditional restaurant in atmosphere. Probably the best service we've had allowing for a relaxed meal. I had the pan seared sesame tuna and it was the best I've had. One tip is if you aren't a great fan of wasabi, let them know! I'll go back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, Indiana
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“O'Delicious...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

For seafood lovers, it's illegal to be in Maryland and not have a crab cake. I fulfilled my obedience to this "law" with a visit here, recommended by a friend. This place sits in The Kentlands, a shopping center arranged as a town square with a triple cluster of big box stores and smaller shops intertwined with restaurants. Inside of the entrance, a Chesapeake & Ohio model train circles above as patrons wait to be seated.

For an appetizer, the Oysters Rockefeller was the best I've had. The crab cakes? Marvelous. The presentation of the food is well-done. Tasty meal to the core.

My server (Marcelo) gets four stars alone. Very attentive and patient with my picky indecisiveness. I was there for my birthday weekend and he surprised me with a complimentary slice of lemon meringue pie with a lit candle. An unexpected and memorable touch of class.

This place is definitely a must for any seafood lover; a great time with friends, family, or for anyone who wants to treat themselves to a great meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Crab Cakes Make It Here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

They have the best crab cakes around. Nice big pieces of crab and little filler. (This is filler: TripAdvisor wants at least 50 )(%^)_+))((*-ers.)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raahe, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent lobster and good oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

nice place to visit if you are interested in seafood between steak dinners. Fresh oysters, steamed tasty lobster, cold beer, great company and as the result- excellent evening!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Donnell's Sea Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Donnell's Sea Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.