We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Crowded” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dogfish Head Alehouse, Gaithersburg

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dogfish Head Alehouse, Gaithersburg
800 West Diamond Ave., Gaithersburg, MD 20878
301-963-4847
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 272 restaurants in Gaithersburg
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I always like this place, so do a lot of other people because it is always really crowded. Interesting beer selection, and the "bar food" is good. I've never considered ordering entrees here. Stick with the sandwiches, salads, appetizers and you can't go wrong.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    71
    79
    22
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fun for lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We went on a Saturday afternoon for a late lunch, and this was the perfect place for a sandwich and a beer. Two of us tried their new grill cheese sandwiches (lots of different meats/veggies/cheeses), we had some wings and queso appetizers, and a kid's meal. Our plates were wiped clean! The beer was great too--such selection, but we felt rushed by our waitress to order our drinks. There's a lot to read on that beer menu!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't go for the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Dogfish Head is really about the beer selection including microbrews. Bees for a large crowd especially it when the weather is nice and you can sit outdoors. Good for going out with your coworkers to blow off some steam.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hamburgular Was Delish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

All kinds of different beers to try. They even have beer flights you can order. The hamburgular was very tasty! The spices in the burger were really good. The roast beef & cheddar was mouth watering. Good eats!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Stopped in to try unique beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I didn't have dinner or anything here, but a colleague and I stopped in after dinner to try some unusual beers. The had a number of things I don't get at home in Chicago, even at a great craft beer bar. Sat at the bar, service was good, prices weren't unreasonable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dogfish Head Alehouse, Gaithersburg also viewed

 

Been to Dogfish Head Alehouse, Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dogfish Head Alehouse, Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.