We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original, good beer and brew pub menu!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dogfish Head Alehouse, Gaithersburg

Dogfish Head Alehouse, Gaithersburg
800 West Diamond Ave., Gaithersburg, MD 20878
+1 301-963-4847
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 271 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Original, good beer and brew pub menu!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Beer. Original, good beer. That's enough said for most people who end up here intentionally. You will have more than what you can enjoy. Add a creative menu of brew pub food, cooked with care and delivered with friendly, attentive service and it's a winning combination. I've been coming here for over five years and there's very little turnover with bartenders and waitresses, and so this is a nice place where everyone knows your name, eventually. A great local hangout. Take your date unless she doesn't like dimly lit brew pubs and a generally busy place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    113
    30
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Parkesburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Really solid food friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here to meet up with an old friend. Friendly staff, insane selection of beers, and above average pub type food. Sort of in the middle of nowhere from I could tell, but it suited our friendly reunion perfectly!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Food is OK, Place needs Cleaning”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

There feels like a layer of grease on the tables and on the floors. I actually slipped on the floor. The carpet on the stairs is old and dirty. The food is OK and they have a good selection of beer but I really dislike eating in a place that is in need of a cleaning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven Corners, Virginia
Top Contributor
444 reviews 444 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Very decently priced food, iffy beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This place is usually packed on weekends at happy hour, so we try to avoid it most of the time. This past Friday, however, coming back late from work I noticed that it was unusually deserted and we decided to stop by for a dinner. By that time you could seat anywhere there was a menu on a table. Soon a waiter popped up to take our drink orders. Turned out that even some of the beers marked "in stock" on the menu were out, so that was a major bummer. :( The whole establishment seems to be short on good dark beers which I happened to be partial to, so this is by far is not my favorite beer joint. However, if you're into expensive 60, 90, 120 minutes IPAs this could be your spot.
However, what I really like this place is for nice decently priced food. I had a rack of baby back ribs for $20 with onion rings and fries. That was the most memorable part of the dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food, friendly staff, good atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The beer and food were both a bit on the pricey side. Our burgers (bacon/chedder) were great, though, and the beer was good. We did have a lot of fun and all-in-all it was a great night out. There were some unique menu items, and our friend in town who goes there often said you really couldn't go wrong no matter what you ordered...that everything is fantastic.

Our waiter was SUPER friendly and very helpful. He helped us narrow down our choices for both food and beer. Very knowledgeable. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dogfish Head Alehouse, Gaithersburg also viewed

 

Been to Dogfish Head Alehouse, Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dogfish Head Alehouse, Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.