We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dogfish Head Alehouse, Gaithersburg

Dogfish Head Alehouse, Gaithersburg
800 West Diamond Ave., Gaithersburg, MD 20878
301-963-4847
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #3 of 265 restaurants in Gaithersburg
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Back again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stopped nearby to break up a long trip so on a Friday night we went back to Dogfish. This time we shared the eggrolls, which were tasty with nice spice. I had the bratwurst with pretzel rolls and sauerkraut. They were very good, paired nicely with the beer. He had the fish and chips, skimpy on the fish but it was cooked nicely. We finished it off with apple crisp. It took a while to come out but it was fresh baked goodness. Not a ton of apples but the topping was great. The beer was excellent as always. I tried a cocktail just because and it really wasn't that great (it's an Alehouse). I would stick with beer or wine. We definitely will return, but next time we won't come on a Friday night. It was only a 25 minute wait so not too bad but we prefer to hang out at the bar for a while and it was packed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    65
    72
    20
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good place for beer and burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

They seved excellant burger and beer. You cannot taste them in the south korea. If you're korean and like a burger and beer this must be be a must -to-visit place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A good quick fix for burgers, hearty salads, and creamy soups.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

As another recent reviewer noted, service has always been excellent. My server, Erin, was friendly, very professional, and quick. The hostess and bus people also get high marks for service. They offer four beef burgers, and one veggie burger, and all are winners. They always have a "Burger of the Day" which can be a slight variant on one of the stock four - or then again totally different. Great full sized salads, and for most salads, one can add steak strips, or chicken, or shrimp, or ahi tuna, or even salmon. Look, Caesar salad is great on its own, without roasted garlic. It is too easy for the cook to overcook or burn garlic, so forget the garlic. And they make all the salad dressing, "in House." Two entrees which get raves from the clients (and no this is second hand, I never had them) are the crab cakes (big raves) and the Shepherd's Pie (little but enthusiastic raves). Everyone, yes, everyone loves the fries and especially they love the onion rings. Great selection of beers -- except they have only ONE non-alcoholic beer, Becks which is great, but how about a little variety Mr. Alefish? Bummer, I really hate and resent that they have only one non-alcoholic beer. I like O’Doul’s Amber (from Bud) and they don't carry it. Another BOO! A big boo on the beverages, because they don't offer espresso or cappuccinos. There are only limited dessert offerings, They take all major credit card. Parking lots are clean and well lit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Its just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have eaten here several times in the last 2 months. I have eaten different menu items each time I have gone in here. I have used server suggestions/favorites. I have not found anything special here. The only thing it has going for it in my opinion is convenience. Its right off I 270. Service however has always been excellent

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Hoped for more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

My family and I went to the Dogfish Head Alehouse based on the high marks on Tripadvisor during our visit to the DC/MD area. I was sorely disappointed. When we walked in we were not greeted the hostesses, they were busy getting t-shirts. Finally a waitress was nice enough to seat us by the kitchen door. The food was decent but nothing spectacular. Our server was attentive but my initial impression of this establishment is what I walked away with and will not go there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dogfish Head Alehouse, Gaithersburg also viewed

 
Gaithersburg, MD
Gaithersburg, MD
 

Been to Dogfish Head Alehouse, Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dogfish Head Alehouse, Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Dogfish Head Alehouse, Gaithersburg to your Saves list