We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value with lots of activities nearby in the Rio complex” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   204 Boardwalk Place, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Palo Alto, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great value with lots of activities nearby in the Rio complex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had a great stay here--comfortable beds, well-furnished rooms, clean bathrooms. Wi-fi is free, and parking is also free, but also a bit of a free-for-all, as it is shared with the parking garage of the Rio shopping, dining, entertainment complex. It can be pretty crowded when there are events happening there, but the top row is reserved with signs for Courtyard Marriott guests. And if you ask about it, you can get a free day pass at the Sport & Health club right nearby, which offers a lap swimming pool and extensive fitness options. The Rio is an interesting combination of shops, restaurants, movies, and activities for the kids (including paddle boats). Altogether, it makes a great value package for the area.

There were some minor service hiccups, like the printer not working for boarding pass printout and a mixup on when to clean the room, but overall, I'd come back to stay here again next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed all the dimensions of what makes a great hotel stay! When you arrive in the area for your next stay, let the front desk know right away of any special requests you may need during your visit so we can follow up properly! See you soon.

Warmest Regards,

Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    76
    18
    11
    4
See reviews for
56
27
18
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is a nice hotel in a really great area for families on vacation. The hotel is located on the water in Gaithersburg, MD in an area that has a downtown Disney feeling. We arrived at the hotel before noon and were accommodated with a room immediately. The rooms were clean and spacious and the staff was very courteous. The only downside was that the two mirrors that were located in the room were both in the bathroom, however this is a very minor inconvenience and can be overlooked due to all of the other positives. There were several restaurants with outdoor seating in the area as well as a few malls within a safe walking distance of the hotel. Dicks Sporting Goods, Target, Kohl's and a movie theatre are all right there as well as a whole bunch of smaller stores and restaurants. You could park your car and walk to everything you need. There were paddle boats for rent (but someone over 18 needed to be on the boat as well), a merry go round and a small train ride available for the kids. The hotel also provides a shuttle service to the train station at certain times of the day. We did not take advantage of this service and drove to the train station at Shady Grove ourselves (only a few miles away). During the week there was a $5 charge to park your car at the train station and the RT fare into Washington DC was less than $10 pp. The trip into the city was less than 30 minutes and we avoided sitting in rush hour traffic. At night our group all met on the second floor patio overlooking the water with plenty of space for a large crowd. One additional note is that in accordance with MD state law, the pool is only open when a lifeguard is on duty and is not open midday in the middle of the week but there are plenty of other things available to keep the kids busy. The pool was not large, but it was clean and was not crowded when we were there. All in all, this was a really great hotel that I would recommend and stay in again on my next trip to DC.

Room Tip: Even number rooms had a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

What a wonderful review. We are excited to hear about your enjoyable experience and are thrilled you will be staying with us again! Thank you.

Warmest Regards,

Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed here Memorial Day weekend for a soccer tournament. The hotel is clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. It is a great hotel providing everything we needed, but the best part is the location. We were with a soccer team of 17 year old boys who were able to do anything they wanted---movies, restaurants and shopping were all within walking distance. This gave everyone the freedom that they wanted without having to let the teenagers drive in a strange area.

The moms also went to the nearby Shady Grove metro station to hit DC on Saturday. Once we figured out how to purchase tickets in the completely automated system (How many soccer moms does it take to buy metro tickets? Answer was 4!), we rode into the City and had a ball. We will definitely stay here again for the next tournament down this way. The hotel is great and perfectly situated.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again! Our location is excellent for those big groups that want to do different things because everything is so accessible. Our housekeeping staff are thrilled to hear you appreciated the cleanliness of the hotel and took notice to their hard work! See you soon.

Warmest Regards,

Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The hotel was pleasant...neat and tidy. The only annoying thing is lack of shower cap in room. Had to go to the lobby for one. But the front desk staffs were very warm and helpfully. Good to finally see a happy person at work!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our enthusiastic associates! As far as your shower cap, some amenities we provide in the room and others we provide per request to accommodate all sorts different guest needs! We are truly thankful for your kind words and hope you visit soon again.

Warmest Regards,

Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I just spent the last 6 nights in this hotel. I was in Gaithersburg for a training and this was the hotel that the trainees were assigned.
Here are the many positives that I discovered:
1) The location in right in the heart of shops, restaurants, a movie theater etc.
2) The complimentary breakfast was outstanding. They even have someone ready to cook omelets to order.
3) The room was spacious and cleaned well each day.
4) The people at the service desk were polite and had big smiles for people coming and going.
In short, my experience was very positive.
The only two negatives I can think of are:
1) This area gets real noisy on the weekends. If you have a room on the street side this can be a nuisance.
2) Only 2 elevators. They are extremely busy. On more than one occasion I used the stairs from the 4th floor.

I will definitely stay here again, and recommend it to travelers in the DC area.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor and stay on the lake side. You'll be glad you did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your tremendous review! We are ecstatic about your positive experience here at the Gaithersburg Courtyard. On the weekends it can get pretty active around the area, however we appreciate your understanding and welcome you back any time.

Warmest Regards,

Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Entire property is out building away from Main Lobby and food. All are 3 story walk ups which is loads of fun with a neavy suitcase and briefcase. Rooms are tire, need paint and updating. Bar in lobby was out of nearly very beer and several wines. Staff trys to make it right for customer, but the management doesn't give them a property or the tools to do so.

Room Tip: If its a short stay and you must stay hee ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have stayed here two times this year and on both times the staff were very helpful, nice and found a great room for us. The hotel looks over a small lake where people rent and peddle swan and dragon boats on nice days. It is close to 270 so it is good to have a higher level room to avoid some of the noise from it. There is an elevator so you don't have to worry about climbing stairs. There is a coffee place and a movie theater within block away and all sorts of shops and restaurants running along Boardwalk place and in the Rio center.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We do our best to put an emphasis on great customer service and we are thrilled to see you have experienced this on multiple occasions. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed the convenience of the elevator and the accessibility to all the shops. We are sure we will be seeing you again this year!

Warmest Regards,

Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Address: 204 Boardwalk Place, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pool is seasonal; hours of operations are Friday 5pm-10pm, Saturday 10am-10pm, and Sunday 10am-10pm. The Bar/Lounge is open weekdays Monday-Thursday 5pm-10pm on the 2nd floor main lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Gaithersburg Marriott
Gaithersburg Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.