We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A terrific hotel in an amazing area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   204 Boardwalk Place, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Walla Walla, Washington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A terrific hotel in an amazing area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I just spent the last 6 nights in this hotel. I was in Gaithersburg for a training and this was the hotel that the trainees were assigned.
Here are the many positives that I discovered:
1) The location in right in the heart of shops, restaurants, a movie theater etc.
2) The complimentary breakfast was outstanding. They even have someone ready to cook omelets to order.
3) The room was spacious and cleaned well each day.
4) The people at the service desk were polite and had big smiles for people coming and going.
In short, my experience was very positive.
The only two negatives I can think of are:
1) This area gets real noisy on the weekends. If you have a room on the street side this can be a nuisance.
2) Only 2 elevators. They are extremely busy. On more than one occasion I used the stairs from the 4th floor.

I will definitely stay here again, and recommend it to travelers in the DC area.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor and stay on the lake side. You'll be glad you did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your tremendous review! We are ecstatic about your positive experience here at the Gaithersburg Courtyard. On the weekends it can get pretty active around the area, however we appreciate your understanding and welcome you back any time.

Warmest Regards,

Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    78
    19
    11
    6
See reviews for
58
27
18
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Entire property is out building away from Main Lobby and food. All are 3 story walk ups which is loads of fun with a neavy suitcase and briefcase. Rooms are tire, need paint and updating. Bar in lobby was out of nearly very beer and several wines. Staff trys to make it right for customer, but the management doesn't give them a property or the tools to do so.

Room Tip: If its a short stay and you must stay hee ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have stayed here two times this year and on both times the staff were very helpful, nice and found a great room for us. The hotel looks over a small lake where people rent and peddle swan and dragon boats on nice days. It is close to 270 so it is good to have a higher level room to avoid some of the noise from it. There is an elevator so you don't have to worry about climbing stairs. There is a coffee place and a movie theater within block away and all sorts of shops and restaurants running along Boardwalk place and in the Rio center.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We do our best to put an emphasis on great customer service and we are thrilled to see you have experienced this on multiple occasions. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed the convenience of the elevator and the accessibility to all the shops. We are sure we will be seeing you again this year!

Warmest Regards,

Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We have stayed in this hotel once before. The previous visit was very nice. Great location amongst shops and restaurants. This time around the experience was terrible. This was due to the fact that the hotel was hosting a prom event that went on until midnight! The event was on the 2nd floor and we were on the 3rd floor! When we called to complain the front desk acted like it did not know they were hosting a prom event!! We were told they would call us back but never did. A word of advice...do NOT plan on staying in this hotel during prom season!!!! Could also hear outside noise as people are gathered around the shops and restaurants. Did not get to sleep until 12:30am! We decided to go to the Starbucks across the street rather than pay $14.50 for the breakfast. The other problem was the parking. The Marriott provides free parking but no hang tag is required! Anyone can park in the reserved Marriott spaces!! Parking is terrible on weekends with everyone coming to dine and shop. We had to park a couple blocks away!!

Room Tip: Event room where prom was held is on 2nd floor - stay as far away as possible!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

First we want to express our sincerest apologies for your experience. Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your stay. The music from the graduation party was kept at a time limit due to the noise concern. As far as breakfast we do understand some guests are not interested in having everything on the buffet and so we offer an 'a la carte' option.

We truly hope you give us an opportunity in the future to show you a great stay with a much better experience! Once again thank you for your time and feel free to reach out to us with any concerns or suggestions.

Warmest Regards,

Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Would rate 4.5. Location was nice with places to eat and a movie place to walk to. Staff was friendly, room was clean, quiet at night. Shopping in area as well. Parking was free across the street. Starbucks right there. Hbo included. Right on the water.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It is wonderful to hear all the different aspects you enjoyed during your stay. We hope you come back very soon to have another well rounded visit! Please let us know what we can do for you so your next stay is a perfect 5!

Warmest Regards,

Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
403 reviews 403 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Recently stayed at the Courtyard with a friend who booked the room on points. Only stayed one night so did not get to try many of the amenities offered. The hotel is in a great location in Washingtonian Center, which is among a little strip of shops, restaurants and bars in Gaithersburg. There is free parking in an adjacent parking garage, which technically you do have to walk off the hotel grounds to access(I think) but it is right across a small street. The front desk staff greeted us warmly and were very pleasant overall. The bed was extremely comfortable and the temperature was perfect throughout the night, with the air conditioning going on intermittently when needed. The shower was great and the room was very clean. It was somewhat easy to hear conversations going on in the hallway, but definitely not a major complaint there. Overall I really liked this hotel and would absolutely return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We could not have said it better ourselves and are ecstatic that your entire experience with us was enjoyable. We welcome your return in hopes you get the chance to experience everything else the Gaithersburg Washingtonian has to offer. Thank you for your kind words!

Warmest Regards,

Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville, Ohio, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

As we were going into D.C. every day, we did not take advantage of all the amenities this hotel has to offer. That being said the staff was the greatest and the room was astatically pleasing and comfortable. Our only frustration was finding a place to park on Friday and Saturday evening. The area is an entertainment and shopping mecca and the parking structure utilized by the motel was full when we returned from our outings. Thankfully the weather was pleasant for our much longer walks back to our room. If the weather had been bad so would have been my review :-)

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

It is great to hear you took advantage of all your nice days and headed into the city. We understand parking is not the easiest on a busy weekend, however to keep parking complementary for all our guests we choose to share with the shopping center! We appreciate your patience and can not wait for your return- no matter the weather!

Warmest Regards,
Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Address: 204 Boardwalk Place, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pool is seasonal; hours of operations are Friday 5pm-10pm, Saturday 10am-10pm, and Sunday 10am-10pm. The Bar/Lounge is open weekdays Monday-Thursday 5pm-10pm on the 2nd floor main lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Gaithersburg Marriott
Gaithersburg Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.