We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   204 Boardwalk Place, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Granville, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

As we were going into D.C. every day, we did not take advantage of all the amenities this hotel has to offer. That being said the staff was the greatest and the room was astatically pleasing and comfortable. Our only frustration was finding a place to park on Friday and Saturday evening. The area is an entertainment and shopping mecca and the parking structure utilized by the motel was full when we returned from our outings. Thankfully the weather was pleasant for our much longer walks back to our room. If the weather had been bad so would have been my review :-)

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

It is great to hear you took advantage of all your nice days and headed into the city. We understand parking is not the easiest on a busy weekend, however to keep parking complementary for all our guests we choose to share with the shopping center! We appreciate your patience and can not wait for your return- no matter the weather!

Warmest Regards,
Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    76
    18
    11
    4
See reviews for
56
27
18
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Great place to stay! Very friendly staff. Miriam at the front desk is terrific! She is always pleasant and happy to help with food or travel recommendations. Entire hotel is clean from room to pool. Breakfast was great. Family friendly but business travelers too.

Room Tip: The pull out sofa is perfect for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Mariam was thrilled to hear you appreciated her recommendations! We are glad you found every aspect of your stay, from our associates to our cleanliness, to be an outstanding experience. We will be happy to have you back again. Thank you and have a wonderful day!

Warmest Regards,

Courtyard Gaithersburg Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

This hotel is nice and clean and functional in terms of layout location etc. what is outstanding us the staff. Very friendly and accommodating in every aspect of my stays here. If you are in the area I recommend this hotel..................

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our staff. We pride ourselves on consistency in excellence and that extends to the people who run the show here! We look forward to your return.

Warmest Regards,

Courtyard Gaithersburg Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The front desk and cleaning staff were very friendly and inviting. Every question and need I had was met with a professional attitude and a smile. I love the location, it has everything you need if you don't feel like travelling far to eat or shop. I would have given this an "Excellent" rating if not for the lumpy bed. The bed was also slanted so that the head was lower than the foot of the bed. That needs to be fixed.
I recommend this hotel and more than likely I will still stay at this hotel again, despite the bed, because it is clean, comfortable, and just over all a really nice place to stay.

Room Tip: My room was facing the lake. It was so pretty and wonderful to lay in bed and watch the snow fall or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are glad you found our staff particularly friendly and informative. For your future stays, please consider contacting our Front Desk when you find something not to be to your liking and we will be happy to provide you with some options. Once again, thank you for your time and we hope to see you here soon.

Warmest Regards,
Courtyard Gaithersburg Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I had stayed here few years ago and always liked the location. This time I had a terrible night.
To be clear; I stay at hotels 3 nights each week for my job. So when I say they have the noisiest and the most annoying AC system I had enough bad experiences to compare!
You don't have any control over the AC. You can not turn it down, you can not stop the cold air, nothing!
We did every trick to just make the AC quiet for few minutes.If you set it on 72 it blows warm air to 72 and it may go up to 72.5. Now it starts to blow cold air to bring it down. Again it would probably go to 71.5 and it continues. It constantly switches heating and cooling and makes LOUD noises. Finally at 3:00 am we called the front desk and somebody came and unplugged the whole system and it was 25 degree outside !!!
In summary, we didn't sleep and we had a long drive ahead of us the next day.
During check out, I told the lady that we had a terrible night and she said she is sorry!! And since we prepaid our stay (via Marriott.com, not a discounted website!!) she can not adjust the rate, but she will add lots of points to my account (oh yes, I do have status with Marriott). Guess what? They didn't add the points either!

The bathroom was terrible, too. The vent didn't work and it was near impossible to change the water to shower. You need to use both hands, arms, feet....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah k, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We are very sorry to hear about your most recent stay at our hotel and the challenges you experienced with our heating and cooling unit. The units are designed to cycle on and off until the optimal temperature is reached. In addition, there is a built in feature to the unit in which when the outside temperature is below a certain temperature, it cycles on and off to help prevent the internal pipes from freezing. In any event, we regret that the equipment kept you from getting a good night's sleep. We would like to not only follow up on your Marriott Rewards account so that we can confirm that the award points have been posted, but we would also like to invite you back, at your convenience and on us, to get a good night's rest (maybe when the weather turns warmer and you can enjoy one of our rooms facing the lake at Washingtonian Center. Most guests really enjoy the view and our location.
Again, please accept our apologies that your stay was not perfect. We value your business very much and take customer service very serious. Please feel free to contact me at sarah.kimani@marriott.com with your Marriott Rewards account number so that we may do an audit immediately and get you the points you were promised.
Many thanks!
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I love the staff at this hotel (Kathleen, Jeremy, Mariam, and "The Artist" (Sorry can't think of her name now), Carmen at the bar as well as the night staff Alex are the most customer friendly staff I have had the opportunity to meet in all my stays while working as a traveling consultant. Their attention to detail and always welcoming presence makes this place truly feel like a home away from home. The hotel is perfectly located around many wonderful attractions from shopping to dining to sightseeing. The rooms are always very clean and the housekeeping staff are extremely hospitable. I have stayed at many hotels in the Maryland area and week after week I choose to stay at Courtyard Washingtonian because it such an awesome place.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are thrilled you find our associates hospitality to be exceptional; "The Artist" you mentioned is Candyse! We always strive for consistency in our excellent services and you are an affirmation of that. Thank you so much for your review, we sincerely appreciate your loyalty.

Warmest Regards,

Courtyard Gaithersburg Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Clean, nice rooms. Ask for a room overlooking the water. There are tons of restaurants, shops, and a movie theater in easy walking distance. HIghly recommend this hotel. Free parking. Best part is the location so close to Rio.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We value ourselves on cleanliness and are very happy to see you appreciated it! We are ecstatic to see you found our location convenient- from the AMC Loews Theatre to the delectable restaurant choices, we are confidant everyone will have an enjoyable time! We are confident we will be seeing you again soon. Thank you kindly.

Warmest Regards,

Courtyard Gaithersburg Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Address: 204 Boardwalk Place, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pool is seasonal; hours of operations are Friday 5pm-10pm, Saturday 10am-10pm, and Sunday 10am-10pm. The Bar/Lounge is open weekdays Monday-Thursday 5pm-10pm on the 2nd floor main lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Gaithersburg Marriott
Gaithersburg Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.