We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, modern hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   204 Boardwalk Place, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
tyler
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful, modern hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I loved the décor which was really lovely and elegant. The room was great, had a comfortable bed and had a refrigerator. The hotel is on a lake and near a shopping area. The staff was friendly and helpful. The negative things for me were they have no pool or hot tub, they have no shuttle to anywhere and the restaurant was very pricey, although the food was good. If none of that bothers you I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad you found our hotel visually pleasing. We welcome you back for a comfortable stay anytime!

Warmest Regards,
Gaithersburg Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    77
    18
    11
    6
See reviews for
57
27
18
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paw Paw, West Virginia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I spent three nights at this hotel, as I was teaching a class in one of their rooms. It was a great sleep and a great stay. The staff, save for Sunday evening, was great. They went out of their way to help on all occasions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for sharing your experience and taking the time to give us your feedback. We appreciate you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Gaithersburg area.


Warmest Regards,
Gaithersburg Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I tagged along while my husband had a business meeting. A perfect hotel to stay at alone. Right outside the hotel are shops, restaurants, movie theatre, a lake with paddle boats, and wonderful walking trails.
I can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel. Before we arrived to have an allergy free room ready for us. We arrived after a car ride dealing with construction delays only to find our room ready and perfectly done. The front desk staff was warm and welcoming.
Breakfast was served in a room facing the lake- I only wish the mornings were a little warmer so I could have taken my breakfast outside. It was a buffet but several people getting you juice and coffee plus fresh eggs cooked to your liking also available. The prices for breakfast were quite reasonable.
The last night of our stay, I had an accident in a local restaurant. I hobbled into the lobby around 11pm and asked if I could have a late checkout due to my foot injury. I was told not to worry or rush and call down if I needed anything. The next morning when I limped down to breakfast, they were all concerned and were called by the front desk to alert them to be ready to deliver breakfast if I
needed it. Housekeeping brought me ice several times during the day and it arrived within minutes of me calling to ask for it. The front desk also called to check if I needed anything.
This hotel staff took customer service to another level!!! Kudos to everyone who works there!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so appreciative of your kind words. This made everyone happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you choose to 'tag along' with your husband again on a warmer season! Thank you for sharing your experience.

Warmest Regards,
Gaithersburg Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
499 helpful votes 499 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel is located in the heart of the Washingtonian Mall. It sits at the far end of the mall near the Loews theater. Across the street is California Pizza Kitchen, Starbucks, 16 Handles Yogurt, Corner Bakery and loads of shopping and other restaurants. To the rear is a beautiful lake with jogging/walking trail and plenty of ducks/fish to feed.

We usually don't stay at Courtyard Inns, but this was a wedding we were attending, so I didn't have much choice. The rooms are okay. I did not like the fact they do not contain a microwave nor have a mirror and/or sink outside of the bathroom. With three girls in our room, it was pretty tough to share the small one in the bathroom and the one behind the bathroom door. I also must say the walls are quite thin as we were woken up several times throughout the night by people talking, slamming/shaking their doors, running up and down in the hallway, or we could hear their television sets blaring.

The front desk staff when we checked in were quite friendly.

We did eat at the breakfast buffet once, which is so overpriced for the items they offer and the staff was extremely rude and nasty. They have a make-your-own omelet station, waffle machine, cereals, fruit that was still frozen, oatmeal, cold scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy, french toast sticks, milks, breads and yogurts. I would recommend to eat somewhere else or bring your own breakfast. It was not worth the $12 for the buffet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

You gave a great description of our location! We often have wedding groups stay because of its accessibility and convenience. With this in mind, we do our best to put these groups on the same floor together. If you ever run into dissatisfaction with your room location please do not hesitate to contact the front desk, they would be more than happy to accommodate the situation the best we can!

We apologize you did not find our buffet preferable. We do provide an option of "a la carte" to order individual breakfast preferences cooked upon request at individual prices.

Thank you kindly for your feedback!

Warmest Regards,
Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here recently while visiting family members. The location was great and it was surrounded by shopping, movies and restaurants. The staff was responsive and professional.We would return if the circumstances require it again. The rooms are adequate and the pillow choices were a treat as I dislike a hard pillow.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a pleasure having you here as our guest. We appreciate your business. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Warmest Regards,
Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapel hill
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel is nice and the water view rooms are good. I would have rated the hotel better except the TV quality was poor and grainy and the air conditioning did not seem to be working that well. The hotel staff was good. Breakfast was good though not included. The food delivered for room service was not that great. May have been better in the restaurant.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay. We would like to invite you to share more detail with our Front Desk Manager about your experiences with your T.V. and in room air conditioner. We strive to provide high quality at all times and are sadden to hear you may have experienced another wise during your stay. You may reach out to us by calling the Front Desk Manager at (301) 354-8782. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming back as our guest soon.

Warmest Regards,
Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We chose this hotel for the location and the pool. Were very disappointed when we checked in to learn that the pool is not open during the week and only open in the evenings on Friday night and on the weekends during specific hours. The breakfast is totally over priced. It is the same menu you get for free at other hotels. The rooms were clean and quiet. The staff was excellent, especially Kathleen, who was most helpful, professional and so nice during our entire stay. If the website would provide accurate information about their pool, we would have been much happier quests of the Courtyard by Marriott. Will probably not stay there again next year. Too many comparable hotels in the area with a pool that is open and breakfast.

Room Tip: Verify web site gives accurate information about amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We do apologize our pool was closed during your check-in date. We do understand this can be a major disappoint; we have taken the proper steps to ensure guest are now well informed about our pool and it being seasonal. Kathleen was cheery to hear your nice comments about her. Thank you for sharing your experience.

Warmest Regards,
Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Address: 204 Boardwalk Place, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pool is seasonal; hours of operations are Friday 5pm-10pm, Saturday 10am-10pm, and Sunday 10am-10pm. The Bar/Lounge is open weekdays Monday-Thursday 5pm-10pm on the 2nd floor main lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Gaithersburg Marriott
Gaithersburg Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.