We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   204 Boardwalk Place, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
NJ
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“wonderful spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This place was a pleasant surprise! We were on a business trip and always go with a marriott property when we can. This lovely hotel, on a lake with restaurants and shops all within a short walk was GREAT. Its literally a self contained town around a lake! There are restaurants, small shops and even a TARGET all just within minutes. You can rent paddle boats on the lake or just stroll around the paths.
Our room was great with a comfy bed a view of the water. The room was spotless. There is a restaurant that serves breakfast overlooking the lake that is lovely.
The check-in people were superb!
I would even go back just for fun!

Room Tip: view of the lake is cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback about your stay here at the Gaithersburg Courtyard. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your business. We look forward to welcoming you back soon as our guest, with next time being for fun!



Warmest Regards,
Gaithersburg Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    78
    19
    11
    6
See reviews for
58
27
18
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This Marriott Courtyard was very conveniently located and units were very comfortable for our needs. Shops and restaurants were all nearby. Staff was courteous and accommodating. There was even a fireplace in our unit which was kind of cozy during the summer.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, request a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed our fireplace in our extended lobby located on the second floor. It is the perfect area to get out of your room and refresh for the next day. We would be happy to have you back again. Have a great day!

Warmest Regards,
Gaithersburg Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We called and got our room last minute, excellent rate, easy to find! The hotel is very new, right near great restaurants and shopping. Staff are friendly and helpful. Laundry on site!! Best place we've stayed for a while.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us- we are happy to accommodate last minute plans. We hope you found our laundry machines easy to use and efficient for your unexpected stay! We would be glad to have you again any time.

Warmest Regards,
Gaithersburg Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed in a room with King Size bed and a convertible sofa bed overlooking the lake on a high floor. We selected this based on other tripadvisor's recommendations and reviews and they were right!

Hotel is in the center of a very clean and safe retail zone with lots of shopping and restaurants.
Hotel has a pool (I didn't see it) a small 24 hour convenience area and a breakfast area.
Parking is free across the street in the garage.

Mariam at the front desk was very helpful in her recommendations of restaurants including the Copper Canyon Grill for an excellent meal. If you need a place for a late night bite, you simply walk across the bridge and there is a crab shack restaurant with bar that offers everything from small salads to drinks and meals.

Room was clean. Only complaint was the fan on the A/C was extremely high. You could adjust the temperature but I couldn't figure out how to lower the blowing fan.

Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are overjoyed that our tripadvisor guests guided you to us! Mariam was thrilled to hear you appreciated her knowledge of the area. We would be happy to have you as our guest again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

There are quite a chain hotel options in the area. This one probably has the edge because of the location. The room we had was well-appointed and comfortable. The air-conditioning was a tad loud but leaving the window open meant constant traffic noise from the interstate beyond the lake. A small price to pay for a nice view! One thing that surprised us: the bar is only open Monday through Thursday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted that you found our rooms comfortable and at the right value! We will be happy to have you back any time.

Warmest Regards,
Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHANTILLY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The room was very nice and it was a great location on a little lake with a boardwalk and lots of shopping and restaurants within walking distance. But... and there is no excuse for this... the towels were small and scratchy. It seems like a little thing but I want large soft fluffy towels when I go to a hotel on vacation. It also annoys me that Courtyard does not include breakfast in their basic room package. I won't go back there again. There are other hotels nearby to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are sorry to hear you found our towels less than satisfactory. We invite you to come back again and we would be happy to go the extra mile for you to get you more preferable towels.

Warmest Regards,
Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A typical Courtyard, good for pleasure or business travel. We were in room 322 overlooking the water but without a balcony. The room was clean and comfortable but a tad small. The location is great with shopping and many restaurants, all right out the door. Parking was convenient, across the street in a parking garage. Staff were friendly and check-in was easy.

Room Tip: Water view is the best otherwise you look at the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are pleased to see you enjoyed the view from your room. The man made lake attracts a lot of beautiful wild life that gives your stay a serene appeal. We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Address: 204 Boardwalk Place, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pool is seasonal; hours of operations are Friday 5pm-10pm, Saturday 10am-10pm, and Sunday 10am-10pm. The Bar/Lounge is open weekdays Monday-Thursday 5pm-10pm on the 2nd floor main lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Gaithersburg Marriott
Gaithersburg Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.