We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best option in the area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   204 Boardwalk Place, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Gaithersburg
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best option in the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

There are quite a chain hotel options in the area. This one probably has the edge because of the location. The room we had was well-appointed and comfortable. The air-conditioning was a tad loud but leaving the window open meant constant traffic noise from the interstate beyond the lake. A small price to pay for a nice view! One thing that surprised us: the bar is only open Monday through Thursday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted that you found our rooms comfortable and at the right value! We will be happy to have you back any time.

Warmest Regards,
Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    76
    17
    11
    4
See reviews for
55
27
18
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CHANTILLY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The room was very nice and it was a great location on a little lake with a boardwalk and lots of shopping and restaurants within walking distance. But... and there is no excuse for this... the towels were small and scratchy. It seems like a little thing but I want large soft fluffy towels when I go to a hotel on vacation. It also annoys me that Courtyard does not include breakfast in their basic room package. I won't go back there again. There are other hotels nearby to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are sorry to hear you found our towels less than satisfactory. We invite you to come back again and we would be happy to go the extra mile for you to get you more preferable towels.

Warmest Regards,
Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A typical Courtyard, good for pleasure or business travel. We were in room 322 overlooking the water but without a balcony. The room was clean and comfortable but a tad small. The location is great with shopping and many restaurants, all right out the door. Parking was convenient, across the street in a parking garage. Staff were friendly and check-in was easy.

Room Tip: Water view is the best otherwise you look at the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are pleased to see you enjoyed the view from your room. The man made lake attracts a lot of beautiful wild life that gives your stay a serene appeal. We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I just spent 3 nights (Friday-Monday) here while traveling for business. The hotel is located conveniently in Washingtonian Center. Garage parking is free and right next door. Once your car is parked, you'll have no need for it as the location of the hotel is central to many restaurants and shops all within walking distance around the lovely "Rio" area. The area is always busy and I felt very safe to walk around. The hotel is only a short drive away from the main area of Rockville, so this hotel is also convenient if you are traveling there for business.

The front desk staff was especially friendly, which was appreciated. The rooms are of standard Marriott quality and are adequately spacious and well kept. My room had a lovely view of the lake however noise from the boardwalk area was noticeable on all three nights until at least 11:30. Upper floors would likely solve that problem. The pool/fitness area was small but more than sufficient to meet my needs.

Breakfast is not included in the room rate and is $13 for the buffet or a la carte items of your choosing. Starbucks is across the street and the Corner Bakery is a few blocks up, and I preferred those options for breakfast.

Room Tip: To avoid noise from the boardwalk, ask for a room on an upper floor. The views overlooking the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your post. You're post is greatly appreciated. We like to be the balance of work and play. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to having you back as or guest soon.

Warmest Regards,

The Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel sits in the center of Washingtonian Center and provides plenty of things to do in the area by walking. And if you need to go to Washington DC, it's a short drive or bus ride (Route 74 or 54) to the Shady Grove Metro station ($5 daily parking) on the red line.

With a child we stayed in a 8th floor one-bedroom suite, which is very large and equipped with fridge and microwave. And it's not expensive at all on weekends.

One negative: due to proximity to a grill resaurant, the room has a some smell of grill smoke from time to time. I think the hotel should look at their air filtration or air circulation. It was not a problem to us, however.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the one-bedroom suite; it is perfectly equipped for a multi person weekend stay! We are glad you took advantage of our proximity to the Shady Grove Metro Station to head into Washington D.C. We anticipate you and your families next arrival to be just as enjoyable as the last!

Warmest Regards,

Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Everytime I visit the Gaithersburg md area I stay at court yard marriot at washingtonion center. I absolutly love it. Its very nice super clean with spacious comfortable, and quite rooms. The staff is awesome! They are always very cheerful, happy, and helpful. Especially the ladies at the front desk. Their warm and inviting personalities makes my stay even more enjoyable.
The hotel is in an amazing location with a beautiful landscape, right on the boardwalk overlooking the lake. Which house fish, geese, and ducks. It is also open to paddle boats or a casual trial walk around the perimeter. Close to many restaurants, shopping possibilities, and entertainment. Definitely worth the trip, but more importantly worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We appreicate our guest just as much as the staff. We look forward to seeing again soon. Thank you for staying with us.


Warmest Regards,

Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

A month or so we did small sleepover for my teenager at this hotel because of the proximity to the movie theaters a lot of restaurants,and a lot of clothing shops. The gilrs had a great time and the service was amaazing.
A month later (6/14) my two best friends from high school and I wanted to have a mini get away and chose to stay at the courtyard. Everything was perfect. Parking is easy, the men and ladies at the front desk seem truley happy to help and while always wearing a smile.
We spent most of the time walking around the shops and eating (too many restaurants to choose from). The short amount of time we spent in our room was great. It was clean, quiet, and had all of the necessary ammenities. The day of check out, we enjoyed the breakfast buffet and just relaxing on the deck off of the seocnd floor. There are chairs, couches and tables there for another place to spread out wit a beautiful view of thew lake.

Room Tip: a lake view is nice and prevents you from looking in the parking garage, butyou probably aren't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are happy to hear you chose us to host your reunion with your friends. We are glad you took advantage of our Breakfast Buffet; it's the best way to start your morning. Thank you so much for choosing Gaithersburg Courtyard, yet again. We appreciate your business. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Courtyard Gaithersburg Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Address: 204 Boardwalk Place, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pool is seasonal; hours of operations are Friday 5pm-10pm, Saturday 10am-10pm, and Sunday 10am-10pm. The Bar/Lounge is open weekdays Monday-Thursday 5pm-10pm on the 2nd floor main lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Gaithersburg Marriott
Gaithersburg Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.