We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   204 Boardwalk Place, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A typical Courtyard, good for pleasure or business travel. We were in room 322 overlooking the water but without a balcony. The room was clean and comfortable but a tad small. The location is great with shopping and many restaurants, all right out the door. Parking was convenient, across the street in a parking garage. Staff were friendly and check-in was easy.

Room Tip: Water view is the best otherwise you look at the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are pleased to see you enjoyed the view from your room. The man made lake attracts a lot of beautiful wild life that gives your stay a serene appeal. We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    78
    19
    11
    6
See reviews for
58
27
18
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I just spent 3 nights (Friday-Monday) here while traveling for business. The hotel is located conveniently in Washingtonian Center. Garage parking is free and right next door. Once your car is parked, you'll have no need for it as the location of the hotel is central to many restaurants and shops all within walking distance around the lovely "Rio" area. The area is always busy and I felt very safe to walk around. The hotel is only a short drive away from the main area of Rockville, so this hotel is also convenient if you are traveling there for business.

The front desk staff was especially friendly, which was appreciated. The rooms are of standard Marriott quality and are adequately spacious and well kept. My room had a lovely view of the lake however noise from the boardwalk area was noticeable on all three nights until at least 11:30. Upper floors would likely solve that problem. The pool/fitness area was small but more than sufficient to meet my needs.

Breakfast is not included in the room rate and is $13 for the buffet or a la carte items of your choosing. Starbucks is across the street and the Corner Bakery is a few blocks up, and I preferred those options for breakfast.

Room Tip: To avoid noise from the boardwalk, ask for a room on an upper floor. The views overlooking the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your post. You're post is greatly appreciated. We like to be the balance of work and play. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to having you back as or guest soon.

Warmest Regards,

The Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel sits in the center of Washingtonian Center and provides plenty of things to do in the area by walking. And if you need to go to Washington DC, it's a short drive or bus ride (Route 74 or 54) to the Shady Grove Metro station ($5 daily parking) on the red line.

With a child we stayed in a 8th floor one-bedroom suite, which is very large and equipped with fridge and microwave. And it's not expensive at all on weekends.

One negative: due to proximity to a grill resaurant, the room has a some smell of grill smoke from time to time. I think the hotel should look at their air filtration or air circulation. It was not a problem to us, however.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the one-bedroom suite; it is perfectly equipped for a multi person weekend stay! We are glad you took advantage of our proximity to the Shady Grove Metro Station to head into Washington D.C. We anticipate you and your families next arrival to be just as enjoyable as the last!

Warmest Regards,

Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Everytime I visit the Gaithersburg md area I stay at court yard marriot at washingtonion center. I absolutly love it. Its very nice super clean with spacious comfortable, and quite rooms. The staff is awesome! They are always very cheerful, happy, and helpful. Especially the ladies at the front desk. Their warm and inviting personalities makes my stay even more enjoyable.
The hotel is in an amazing location with a beautiful landscape, right on the boardwalk overlooking the lake. Which house fish, geese, and ducks. It is also open to paddle boats or a casual trial walk around the perimeter. Close to many restaurants, shopping possibilities, and entertainment. Definitely worth the trip, but more importantly worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We appreicate our guest just as much as the staff. We look forward to seeing again soon. Thank you for staying with us.


Warmest Regards,

Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

A month or so we did small sleepover for my teenager at this hotel because of the proximity to the movie theaters a lot of restaurants,and a lot of clothing shops. The gilrs had a great time and the service was amaazing.
A month later (6/14) my two best friends from high school and I wanted to have a mini get away and chose to stay at the courtyard. Everything was perfect. Parking is easy, the men and ladies at the front desk seem truley happy to help and while always wearing a smile.
We spent most of the time walking around the shops and eating (too many restaurants to choose from). The short amount of time we spent in our room was great. It was clean, quiet, and had all of the necessary ammenities. The day of check out, we enjoyed the breakfast buffet and just relaxing on the deck off of the seocnd floor. There are chairs, couches and tables there for another place to spread out wit a beautiful view of thew lake.

Room Tip: a lake view is nice and prevents you from looking in the parking garage, butyou probably aren't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are happy to hear you chose us to host your reunion with your friends. We are glad you took advantage of our Breakfast Buffet; it's the best way to start your morning. Thank you so much for choosing Gaithersburg Courtyard, yet again. We appreciate your business. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Courtyard Gaithersburg Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

After a mix-up with reservations (4 people in room with a King bed) at the Washingtonian Center Marriott, we changed to the Courtyard in the same area (the day before our arrival date). We visit this area twice a year for shopping and dining and have stayed in various hotels. Hotel location is great! Rooms are clean and spacious! We requested a lake front room and our request was met. Front desk personnel are very helpful and friendly. We will definitely stay there from now on. If you make reservations with Marriott on line or through their 800 number, be sure to call to confirm that your accommodation request was met. If I hadn't, there would have been 4 of us sharing a King bed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I was happy to hear that we were able to accommodate your request. I appreciate your kind comments about our associates. They are our greatest asset and I am happy to hear that they gave you and your family great service. I'll look forward to meeting you on your next trip to Gaithersburg!

Ossi Tuominen
General Manager
Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center Courtyard Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ulm, MN
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Here for a meeting 1 1/2 miles away in Rockville. MD. Check in excellent with helpful front desk. Room was clean, full-size couch, refrigerator (no microwave) with a very comfortable king bed. 9th floor - a nice view of a small man-made lake with a 3/4 mile walk around it. Fast elevators. Pool and hot tub adequate. Free internet and free parking a real plus. Free coffee and popcorn in the lobby.

Room Tip: Buy an $8 movie ticket to the theater in the mall at the ice cream store across the street, half a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are thrilled to hear you experienced one of our favorite days of the week-- “Popcorn Monday”. Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate your business. We look forward to seeing you again soon; meeting or not.

Warmest Regards,
Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Address: 204 Boardwalk Place, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pool is seasonal; hours of operations are Friday 5pm-10pm, Saturday 10am-10pm, and Sunday 10am-10pm. The Bar/Lounge is open weekdays Monday-Thursday 5pm-10pm on the 2nd floor main lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Gaithersburg Marriott
Gaithersburg Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.