We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and comfortable room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   204 Boardwalk Place, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect location and comfortable room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel sits in the center of Washingtonian Center and provides plenty of things to do in the area by walking. And if you need to go to Washington DC, it's a short drive or bus ride (Route 74 or 54) to the Shady Grove Metro station ($5 daily parking) on the red line.

With a child we stayed in a 8th floor one-bedroom suite, which is very large and equipped with fridge and microwave. And it's not expensive at all on weekends.

One negative: due to proximity to a grill resaurant, the room has a some smell of grill smoke from time to time. I think the hotel should look at their air filtration or air circulation. It was not a problem to us, however.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the one-bedroom suite; it is perfectly equipped for a multi person weekend stay! We are glad you took advantage of our proximity to the Shady Grove Metro Station to head into Washington D.C. We anticipate you and your families next arrival to be just as enjoyable as the last!

Warmest Regards,

Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    76
    18
    11
    4
See reviews for
56
27
18
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Everytime I visit the Gaithersburg md area I stay at court yard marriot at washingtonion center. I absolutly love it. Its very nice super clean with spacious comfortable, and quite rooms. The staff is awesome! They are always very cheerful, happy, and helpful. Especially the ladies at the front desk. Their warm and inviting personalities makes my stay even more enjoyable.
The hotel is in an amazing location with a beautiful landscape, right on the boardwalk overlooking the lake. Which house fish, geese, and ducks. It is also open to paddle boats or a casual trial walk around the perimeter. Close to many restaurants, shopping possibilities, and entertainment. Definitely worth the trip, but more importantly worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We appreicate our guest just as much as the staff. We look forward to seeing again soon. Thank you for staying with us.


Warmest Regards,

Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

A month or so we did small sleepover for my teenager at this hotel because of the proximity to the movie theaters a lot of restaurants,and a lot of clothing shops. The gilrs had a great time and the service was amaazing.
A month later (6/14) my two best friends from high school and I wanted to have a mini get away and chose to stay at the courtyard. Everything was perfect. Parking is easy, the men and ladies at the front desk seem truley happy to help and while always wearing a smile.
We spent most of the time walking around the shops and eating (too many restaurants to choose from). The short amount of time we spent in our room was great. It was clean, quiet, and had all of the necessary ammenities. The day of check out, we enjoyed the breakfast buffet and just relaxing on the deck off of the seocnd floor. There are chairs, couches and tables there for another place to spread out wit a beautiful view of thew lake.

Room Tip: a lake view is nice and prevents you from looking in the parking garage, butyou probably aren't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are happy to hear you chose us to host your reunion with your friends. We are glad you took advantage of our Breakfast Buffet; it's the best way to start your morning. Thank you so much for choosing Gaithersburg Courtyard, yet again. We appreciate your business. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Courtyard Gaithersburg Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

After a mix-up with reservations (4 people in room with a King bed) at the Washingtonian Center Marriott, we changed to the Courtyard in the same area (the day before our arrival date). We visit this area twice a year for shopping and dining and have stayed in various hotels. Hotel location is great! Rooms are clean and spacious! We requested a lake front room and our request was met. Front desk personnel are very helpful and friendly. We will definitely stay there from now on. If you make reservations with Marriott on line or through their 800 number, be sure to call to confirm that your accommodation request was met. If I hadn't, there would have been 4 of us sharing a King bed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I was happy to hear that we were able to accommodate your request. I appreciate your kind comments about our associates. They are our greatest asset and I am happy to hear that they gave you and your family great service. I'll look forward to meeting you on your next trip to Gaithersburg!

Ossi Tuominen
General Manager
Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center Courtyard Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ulm, MN
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Here for a meeting 1 1/2 miles away in Rockville. MD. Check in excellent with helpful front desk. Room was clean, full-size couch, refrigerator (no microwave) with a very comfortable king bed. 9th floor - a nice view of a small man-made lake with a 3/4 mile walk around it. Fast elevators. Pool and hot tub adequate. Free internet and free parking a real plus. Free coffee and popcorn in the lobby.

Room Tip: Buy an $8 movie ticket to the theater in the mall at the ice cream store across the street, half a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are thrilled to hear you experienced one of our favorite days of the week-- “Popcorn Monday”. Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate your business. We look forward to seeing you again soon; meeting or not.

Warmest Regards,
Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamlin , New York, United States
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This Courtyard lives up to the "better than average" reputation that it seeks and most often gets.
The room is good/very good...spacious, clean, "nice"...really!
What makes this a "very good" Courtyard it its location in Washingtonian Center. A small community of shops, theater, stores, this Center is also located very conveniently off of the I 270. It is far enough out of Washington, D.C. to feel less rushed, is right on/near multiple hiways, including the Beltway, to be convenient to not only W., D.C., but also its surrounds, including Baltimore and Northern Virginia.
Depending on the room...and price, of course...a nice breakfast is either included or available. Made to order omelets, real egg scrambled eggs, sausages, potatoes, breakfast sweets, juice in a dining room atmosphere.
Our room was on the "lake" side (man made) and was a pleasant view. Walking path around it.
The Center is like a large, outdoor walking mall. Parking for the hotel and for most shops is covered and free.
Work out facilities

Room Tip: I'd choose a room with a "view" (the lake), and with breakfast included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments! I was happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay. I too agree that our location is great. We have over 60 shops and restaurants in the walking distance. There is also a movie theater next door, in case weather is bad. I hope you have a chance visit us again!

Ossi Tuominen
General Manager
Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center Courtyard Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This Marriott is conveniently located in the popular Rio restaurant, entertainment, shopping area which was great. The two-queen-bed room was very spacious, clean and bright with well functioning air conditioning. I found the front desk personnel very welcoming but staunch on their no roll-away in that room policy. Also, follow up regarding two issues were met with a complete lack of attention. Three times I reported that the showerhead, which was attached to a sliding bar in the bathroom, would not stay in place - falling to a height of around 4’9”. The only reason it stopped there was due to a joint that attached the bar to the wall. I requested for it to be repaired, however, when I left it was still in the original position waiting for another frustrated customer. Also, I believed I left a battery charger in the room when I checked out. I called the next day to see if it was found by housekeeping and I was told it would take them 2-3 days to answer my request. It has been a week and I haven't heard from anyone at this location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Address: 204 Boardwalk Place, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pool is seasonal; hours of operations are Friday 5pm-10pm, Saturday 10am-10pm, and Sunday 10am-10pm. The Bar/Lounge is open weekdays Monday-Thursday 5pm-10pm on the 2nd floor main lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Gaithersburg Marriott
Gaithersburg Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.