We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for business” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   204 Boardwalk Place, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Gaithersburg
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice hotel for business”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I was at the hotel for a small conference. The other guests were generally quiet, but sound really carries in the hallways. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The adjacent shopping center was very convenient with acceptable restaurants. I had 2 separate problems with the billing, but the desk staff worked hard to clear both up as soon as each one was discovered. However, one of my colleagues wedding ring disappeared from their room. One has to be careful with their belongings anywhere, I guess.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake-side room, even though its on the highway side. Road noise was undetectable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    72
    16
    11
    4
See reviews for
51
27
18
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hockessin, DE
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Park your car and enjoy not having to move it again. So much to do at your doorstep from multiple restaurants, a movie theater, shopping and a nice walking path around a lake. I stayed there on business and plan to go back for a weekend with my wife. Also outdoor converts in the summer.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room. Starbucks across the street. Try the BGR burger joint across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Comfortable rooms, solid wifi, nice dining room, small convenience store and close proximity to a variety of restaurants and shops, make this Courtyard especially well suited for Sodexo employees visiting NorAm headquarters. A mere 3 minute walk puts you inside our north america headquarters. For excercise, there is a decent work out room ,but the real gem is the trail around the lake, perfect for a before or after work run or walk. This courtyard is the go-to hotel for business and family travelers alike visiting the Gaithersburg area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The staff is very friendly! Parking is free!!! There's a lot to do...movie theater is right next door! Ask for a lake view room. So beautiful! I came here to stay just one night because my friend was having a party but I live in Jersey...I am already looking to go back again. It's peaceful yet lively. It's in the perfect area, shopping and various restaurants are all within walking distance.

Room Tip: Lake view room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Gaithersburg Courtyard. We appreicate you sharing your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest again.


Warmest Regards,

Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Our family of four stayed here in a 2-queen room while driving from Buffalo to Myrtle Beach. This is pretty much the midpoint of the drive through PA and down I-95. The hotel is 2 minutes from the interstate, and located around a sizable little lake, surrounded by stores, boutiques and eateries in a nicely-designed setting. Room was certainly big enough, beds were comfortable and the shower was fantastic! The only downsides were the ventilation system which constantly switched on and off with a fairly loud "thunk" to maintain warmth in the room, and the lack of a simple (and inexpensive) breakfast either in the hotel or nearby. One of the cleaner, more comfortable and pleasant roadside stops I've made.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the lake are preferred... the others overlook the parking arcade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Recently, during a business stay at this hotel, the general manager went out of his way to help my company salvage a meeting (which was to take place at a government facility, but the government facility was shut down due to bad weather conditions). He was extremely responsive by making available the hotel's conference room, and we were able to contact other meeting attendees and still have our all-day meeting by using this hotel's facilities. The general manager went out of his way to help us with a projector, power strips, and all of the necessary logistics. He showed genuine concern for our needs. I also noticed how attentive he also was to other guests in the breakfast area...doing whatever he could to help them enjoy their stay. I will stay at this hotel any time I am in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It was our absolute pleasure to salvage the company’s meeting here with us, as well as having you as our guest. Jason, our Sales Event Manager, is really hands on with guest and takes ownership in all guest experiences. We strive to make sure all our guests realize we are genuinely concerned for their needs and it is assuring to hear that you will stay with us next time you are in the area. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back as our guest.

Warm Regards,

Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I will definitely stay here again. The staff is very friendly, the breakfast buffet was great and its location is great. There are 2 views they have. A lake view and the shopping view (not sure if that's what it's called but it over looks the street). I stayed in the lake view and at 6:45am the sun woke me up so close your curtains if you don't want to wake up early. I didn't really care since I was going to get breakfast anyways.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYGaithersburg, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our breakfast buffet during stay with us. Breakfast is definitely a reason to wake up early. We might have to start using the “shopping view” as an alternative in describing the other room that does not have the “lake view”. Thank you for posting your groovy review. We hope to see you back in the Gaithersburg area soon.

Warm Regards,

Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Address: 204 Boardwalk Place, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pool is seasonal; hours of operations are Friday 5pm-10pm, Saturday 10am-10pm, and Sunday 10am-10pm. The Bar/Lounge is open weekdays Monday-Thursday 5pm-10pm on the 2nd floor main lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Gaithersburg Marriott
Gaithersburg Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.