We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place centrally located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   204 Boardwalk Place, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great place centrally located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stay here at least 3 times per year. What is really nice is it is relatively noise free and several places are within walking distance. Food, shopping, you name it. Price is in line with the area and the staff is friendly and attentive. They serve a full breakfast and it is top of the line. I always stay on the second floor, close to everything such as laundry, bar, breakfast and easy to come and go.

Room Tip: Take the second floor, ask for rooms near the laundry, no one ever walks down to this end so it is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    80
    20
    11
    6
See reviews for
59
29
18
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is tucked right on the lake and in the midst of a great eating and shopping area. It is in Gaithersburg and an easy drive into Washington D.C. The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Food choices are delightful in the immediate area so no need to get in the car and go some where. The hotel was full, but quiet - a nice surprise. Would stay here again when visiting with family in the area.

Room Tip: High floors on the lakeside provide nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here because it was close to family - planned on 3 nights, only stayed 1. Overall, not much for a property advertising "full service", and pricey. Once in room, was comfortable but while "free on-site parking" is advertised, parking is actually in a multi-story garage across the street with no weather protection to get to hotel (i.e., walkway, etc.). The garage is a zoo at night and a real PIA to deal with, especially if on the higher levels. Staff was bland and seemed insensitive. Hotel is on one of those neuvo-California-style "avenue" type shopping, dining, and entertainment centers popping up all over - crowded, not enough parking, and loud at night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here recently on a rewards stay during a baseball sporting event in Gaithersburg. We always enjoy this location as it's in a small shopping area with restaurants, stores, and a large movie complex that you can walk to. Our room faced the lake even though we did not request that and the view was awesome! The hotel has everything you need. One suggestion would be to have coffee in the lobby earlier that 7:00 a.m. even if it is a Sunday! We have stayed here before for soccer and have always had a great room.

The only issue we had during this recent stay involved the restaurant. It doesn't open until 7:00 a.m., so we had to wait until that exact time to eat breakfast since we had to rush out to the field to be there by 8:00. When we walked in the lady working there snapped our heads off, "We don't open until 7:00". At that time, it was well after that. When she saw that it was after 7:00 she told us to sit anywhere - no apology. I guess they had a HS Reunion the night before and were still cleaning up and restocking. She was clearly annoyed. We helped ourself to the buffet - and the poor manager made our omelets. We had to get our own juice - it was clearly a service job since the pitchers were near the register, there was no attempt to give us any - coffee was already on the table. It was very uncomfortable eating there and it would have been better for them just to close the restaurant like they did the night before if they weren't ready for guests. Then when we were finished another woman had come in to work and she was polite and very accommodating. Too bad she wasn't in earlier.

All and all a super hotel in a great location! We will be back in the area next weekend, but staying at the Spring Hill Suites up the street a large group.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, NY
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights recently and were pleased. The location is right in the heart of the shopping and entertainment area with movies, shops, restaurants. We checked in late and could only get a room next to the elevator - which was noisy. Our view was of the parking garage, but the other side of the hotel has water views - for a price. Unfortunately, the pool is REALLY small and I could not swim laps in it. We did have the breakfast buffet the next morning. Fortunately, they only charged us for 1 person so it was okay. I would never pay for this again - really pretty awful. Even the coffee was terrible. The staff in the hotel lobby and restaurant were very good. I would stay here again, but get coffee across the street at Starbucks.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator - it is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This Courtyard is really bland when it comes to the room and amenities; however, when it comes to price it's up there with a full service Marriott. The check-in folks behind the counter are not really a help and not as hospitable as I would expect.
I only stay there because of the proximity of it to my work.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

When I travel for business I don't like to have to drive around everywhere looking for places to eat or things to do at night, so this hotel was perfect for me. There's a movie theater down the block, and its surrounded by all sorts of shops and restaurants (including a few that offer gluten free options). During football season they also apparently show the Monday night game in their restaurant with free food. Service was excellent, the room was spotless and up to date and quiet. Overall a very good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Address: 204 Boardwalk Place, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pool is seasonal; hours of operations are Friday 5pm-10pm, Saturday 10am-10pm, and Sunday 10am-10pm. The Bar/Lounge is open weekdays Monday-Thursday 5pm-10pm on the 2nd floor main lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Gaithersburg Marriott
Gaithersburg Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.