We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well located, typical room, nice staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   204 Boardwalk Place, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Carmel, NY
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Very well located, typical room, nice staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights recently and were pleased. The location is right in the heart of the shopping and entertainment area with movies, shops, restaurants. We checked in late and could only get a room next to the elevator - which was noisy. Our view was of the parking garage, but the other side of the hotel has water views - for a price. Unfortunately, the pool is REALLY small and I could not swim laps in it. We did have the breakfast buffet the next morning. Fortunately, they only charged us for 1 person so it was okay. I would never pay for this again - really pretty awful. Even the coffee was terrible. The staff in the hotel lobby and restaurant were very good. I would stay here again, but get coffee across the street at Starbucks.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator - it is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    77
    18
    11
    6
See reviews for
57
27
18
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This Courtyard is really bland when it comes to the room and amenities; however, when it comes to price it's up there with a full service Marriott. The check-in folks behind the counter are not really a help and not as hospitable as I would expect.
I only stay there because of the proximity of it to my work.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

When I travel for business I don't like to have to drive around everywhere looking for places to eat or things to do at night, so this hotel was perfect for me. There's a movie theater down the block, and its surrounded by all sorts of shops and restaurants (including a few that offer gluten free options). During football season they also apparently show the Monday night game in their restaurant with free food. Service was excellent, the room was spotless and up to date and quiet. Overall a very good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

One of the best in the Courtyard line by Marriott. It's located in a walkable area full of shops and eateries with easy access to the major highways (270 & the DC Beltway) as well as convenient to the Metro. In good weather one can walk about the Rio area or around the lake (many of the rooms have very nice views of the lake front which to me seems more like a large pond).

The rooms are very nice and have just about all the basic amenities but the walls are a bit thin. The staff/services are excellent. One major downside is the parking is a bit unusual but certainly nothing as bad as that found in many urban settings so if you are going to be in and out this in not the place for you. The upswing is that given the location just about everything you need is within walking distance.

The other downside is that is is not a good location if you are in town and want easy access to the Metro. Better for visiting friends and family or a weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the lake are especially relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

A very fine Courtyard by Marriott. Tucked in the middle of a shopping center and behind a lake.

Great front desk staff. Workout room has all the features anyone might need for a quick workout during a trip.

The rooms were spacious and quiet. The AC works extremely well. Very easy access to places to eat and the highway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff, uk
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed here on a business and the hotel delivers a good standard of room, location,amenities and customer service for the costs. It is located close to the shops and restaurants of the Boardwalk area. If you are staying in the area it is a very good choice.

The highway is close by so you can hear some road noise early in the morning but I have never found that a problem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. Comfortable bed, well-appointed room with all the basics (fridge, coffeemaker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer). I read previous complaints about the AC, but our room was actually kind of cold when we arrived, and I had to turn the AC up. Worked great otherwise.

You do pay for breakfast, but it's a great-sized buffet that kept me going until dinnertime. Right in the middle of a great shopping district with a lake. Fitness room (3 treadmills, elliptical machine and free weights) and pool. Everything was clean, comfortable and well-maintained.

Only real complaint was that there was no ventilation fan in the bathroom. So showers tended to make things pretty steamy, which we counteracted by keeping the door open and turning the AC way down. But that's a pretty small problem to have. Otherwise, a great stay.

Room Tip: Lakeside views are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Address: 204 Boardwalk Place, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pool is seasonal; hours of operations are Friday 5pm-10pm, Saturday 10am-10pm, and Sunday 10am-10pm. The Bar/Lounge is open weekdays Monday-Thursday 5pm-10pm on the 2nd floor main lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Gaithersburg Marriott
Gaithersburg Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.