We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like Epcot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   204 Boardwalk Place, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Gaithersburg
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Felt like Epcot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We found ourselves in Gaithersburg to attend a local wedding and selected the Courtyard by Marriott in the Washingtonian Center. Once we arrived and checked in we found our room clean and relatively modern. All the amenities were there and I liked the fact that we were on the 7th floor of a 9 floor hotel.

We were instructed to park our car in the free multi-level parking lot across the street. All street parking is limited to 30 minutes. There is a minimum of about 8 parking spots at the entrance to the hotel but they filled up quickly.

Our check-in was quick and the desk clerk was polite but could have been more informative. For example we did not know of the eating facilities are on the second floor and not the first floor. We found this out in the elevator, but did not understand why it was on the second floor. We also were not told that the free Wifi in the hotel required a password which we had to go back to the front desk to obtain. It was not listed in our hotel guide. Not major issues to complain about but it would have been the extra step to really being informative. The desk-clerk however was polite, smiling and courtious. We tried the hotels restaurant for breakfast on Sunday, the day we were checking out and the dining room staff (on the second floor) were extremely polite and professional. Great breakfast buffet by the way. Everything was there including a chef to make omelets.

Our 7th floor room struck me as unusual. The single king size bed in our room looked like it had been turned sideways. Meaning that the headboard was against the bathroom wall and not across from the TV. It just looked odd but was functional.

The entire area around the hotel called the Washingtonian Center reminded me of Epcot. Shops and restaurants lined the streets and everything was in walking distance from our hotel. I was particularly impressed how the area was adequately supplied with many ramps garages that seem invisible from the street. We found many restaurants surround the area can serve you to suit any taste.

We were particularly impressed by a restaurant just down the street from our hotel called the Copper Canyon. The hostess, bartender and the wait staff impressed us with their friendliness, politiness and cheerfulness. We had both lunch one day and dinnner the next day. I was so impressed by the way we were treated that I had to make my compliments to the restaurant manager. I rarely if ever do that. One tip though. The restaurants around the hotel fill up heavily around 6:00 PM. Length of waits were from twenty minutes to an hour. We got into the Copper Canyon with no wait at all.

The area outside of the hotel is park like with a very large pond on one side. A sidewalk allows you to walk all the way around the pond which is beautifully landscaped. All the time we were there I was constantly reminded of being at Epcot Center in Disney World.

All in all the Courtyard by Marriott was very good. My only negative comment would be that conversations carried on in the hallway transmit through the door as if the door was open. Room to room noise was non-existant.

I would without hesitancy stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    72
    16
    11
    4
See reviews for
51
27
18
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I spend a lot of time in hotels and this one does a great job. Perfect setting for a hotel, surrounded by restaurants, shopping, and a movie theater on the same block. Parking can be tough in the garage on the weekend but we always found a spot. Nice clean rooms, lobby and pool area. I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Read prior reviews and decided to give this place a try. Visited DC from a Friday to Monday (3 nights in this hotel) with grandson and wife. We wanted something in the Rockville or Gaithersburg area and this place provided the best location. In the heart of Washingtonian Square. Many dining options are literally a few steps from the hotel. Our favorite was the Corner Bakery Cafe..excellent choices of healthy food at a very resonable price. Breakfast was a great alternative versus the high priced buffet at the Marriott. A Target store and Kohls are a 5 minute walk. Lowes 18 theatre complex and sports health club are 1 block away. Parking is in the public garage right across the street (not a major street btw) and very convenient. I thought it might be a hassle but it was actually great. Hotel is on Washingtonian lake (a small man-made lake) with a boardwalk around the entire lake (.7 mile). Hotel has a small pool and whirlpool (which was not working during our stay) and a fairly decent workout room open 24 hours (3 treadmills, one eliptical, one recumbant bike and some weights). Hotel is very clean and staff very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a king sofa room which while not huge was comfortable for my wife and I and our 8 year-old grandson. Free wireless worked great and we had a 5th floor lake view room which was super quiet. I had read some reviews where noise was an issue from rooms ajoining, but I heard nothing. I would recommend this place for the location alone, but a decent, clean and well located (safe-convenient) and only a 5 minute drive to Shady Grove metro.

Room Tip: Request a quiet upper floor room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, CT
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Traveling with my husband who is on business and our one year old. My days are free and I am looking forward to exploring everything that is in walking distance just steps outside the hotels front door! Enjoying our very clean and adequately sized room. The omelet chef at breakfast was very friendly and delivered my omelet made to order right to the table. Friendly housekeeping associate helped us with our key as she saw us in the hallway and noticed we were having trouble. She even offered to bring a crib for the baby...what a nice touch when someone recognizes your needs! We brought our own pack and play with us, but I was impressed by the offer!

Room Tip: I guess they have rooms with a view of the lake. We are on the opposite side, which I like because I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012 via mobile

Spent the weekend with my daughter and her friend for her birthday. Front desk was fast and friendly. Pool is small but well maintained. Breakfast buffet was perfect. Wait staff was very pleasant and helpful. Location is awesome! Just park your car across the street and no need to use it at all. Restaurants, shopping, and movies right within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

The Courtyard by Marriott Washingtonian Center in Gaithersburg, MD offers not only exceptionally clean, friendly and comfortable accommodations... it offers all this in the center of a quaint (yet modern) shopping district, along with a wonderful selection of restaurants and an 18 screen Lowes/AMC theater complex. Best of all... everything is within walking distance! Oh... and did I mention the lake with geese and seagulls sailing overhead and the real boardwalk that runs the length of the hotel's side of the man-made lake?... or the paved walking path that goes around the other side of the lake from the boardwalk?... or the children's playground area by the lake? Park your vehicle, and retrieve it when you check-out, because you won't need to use it while you are at the Courtyard by Marriott. An impressive array of rooms offer lake views, with some offering balconies over looking the boardwalk and lake. Even in the winter months (we visited 02/18 to 02/20) this area is alive with people and things to do. A great location for a romantic weekend, this hotel is also a nice place to bring the children, with it's indoor pool and available larger rooms. Plus, during spring and summer, early fall, there are paddle boats available for rent on the lake.

Upon entering this hotel, you are immediately struck by the cleanliness of this property. The outdoor grounds and main entranceway are free of litter, and the lobby area is bright, well appointed with seating and glossy shined floors throughout. The front desk staff is friendly, accommodating, knowledgeable about the area, and display a true sense that your stay at this hotel, is very important and deserves the care and attention fitting for that mindset. Oh... don't for get to request a map of all the attractions at the RIO, and also ask about discount cards for local restaurants when you check-in, or anytime during your stay... the hotel has a special arrangement with the Red Canyon Grill restaurant, just down the street from it... you will smell the wood fire wafting in the air, when you arrive at the hotel.

Cannot say enough about the staff, both the front desk staff and the room staff... everyone we came into contact with greeted us every time they saw us, and displayed outstanding customer service skills. These courteous, knowledgeable, accommodating people just add to the exceptional experience at this hotel. Of special note, are those staff members who operate the breakfast buffet each day. This buffet is not a free buffet, but the price is reasonable for the variety and quality of prepared foods offered, by some of the nicest people you could ever ask for. Check-out the Master Omelette Chef's skills with creating a unique omelette to suit almost any taste and desire... or... make your own hot waffle with the pre-measured batter and self-timing waffle maker. All the basic breakfast food are always accounted for, from fresh fruits and cereals... to scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon and home fries... with bagels, biscuits, sausage gravy, juices, coffee, tea and milk. A great way to start a busy day of exploring the area, or shopping... or relaxing at the indoor pool and whirlpool, or (weather permitting) sitting on the veranda deck overlooking the boardwalk and lake.

So much to do and see here at the RIO... from large stores like Kohl's, Target, Lane Bryant, Dick's Sporting Goods, Pier 1, Barnes & Noble Book Store and Jos A Bank Clothier... to smaller unique stores, such a Charming Charlie, Lilly Magilly's Cupcakes, South Moon Under, The Loft, FineWine.com store, Bath and Body Works, Love Your Eyes Optical and Imagine , to name just a few. Places to garb a bite to eat, or a wonderful lunch or dinner include: Red Canyon Grill, Pot Belly's Sandwich Works, Romano's Macaroni Grill, California Pizza Kitchen, Joe's Crab Shack, Uncle Julio's Rio Grande Cafe, Maggiano's Corner Bakery, Cafe Deluxe, Guapo's Cantina & Grill and Starbucks... again to name just a few. With the Courtyard by Marriott being near everything in the RIO area.

Have never been disappointed by this hotel's appearance, nor by it's friendly, professional and accommodating staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view if possible, or pay the extra for a Lake View with open Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

This is a nice property with clean, spacious rooms and has a wonderful location with numerous restaurants and shops in walking distance. The only inconveniences were the parking (you have to go to the garage across the street, which tends to fill up on the weekend), no free breakfast, and very little soundproofing. We could hear all of the street noise (including some loud people walking) and we were on the 6th floor. Plus, sound seemed to carry in the halls and neighboring rooms too. But, otherwise this was a nice place to stay and had very friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Address: 204 Boardwalk Place, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pool is seasonal; hours of operations are Friday 5pm-10pm, Saturday 10am-10pm, and Sunday 10am-10pm. The Bar/Lounge is open weekdays Monday-Thursday 5pm-10pm on the 2nd floor main lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Gaithersburg Marriott
Gaithersburg Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.