We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a terrific hotel!!. Recommended for everyone.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   204 Boardwalk Place, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Gaithersburg
concord, ma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What a terrific hotel!!. Recommended for everyone.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We booked this hotel on a lark. What great find. Walking distance to everything. Very nice and clean. We slept like babies.

Our only complaint was that we ordered a snack at the bar and it tasted terrible, but that can happen anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    72
    15
    11
    4
See reviews for
50
27
18
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VA, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

spent one night on a 2 day birthday trip. Hotel is in a great location. Plenty of restaurants/bars/shopping on your doorstep. Nice lake to walk around. All staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. Rooms beautiful and clean and fresh. Excellent hotel to visit Washington DC and Baltimore.

Room Tip: ask for a lakeside room, the view is beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, West Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Recently stayed at this hotel, they have a "big brother" HVAC control system that is set to 72 deg. First night, too hot to sleep. Front desk said the HVAC was controlled by the computer system, had to search online to find a way to remotely kill the uplink to make turn the A/C on. Breakfast was 12.50 which compared the the free breakfast you receive at other Marriott's is considered a rip off. Pool does not open till 5.00 and that is enforced via remote door lock that is on a timer. Wifi, is extremely slow in the rooms. As a business traveler, I have found that there is certainty better values in the area. And will not try this hotel again. And I must not forget the lack of parking room in the garage to which you must park far away from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

The Hotel was very nice, seemed like a new build. The service was excellent, if we needed anything they got it for us or told us where we could get it. The only odd thing was that the pool/hottub did not open till 5pm on Friday. This would have been convient after a long drive.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

I really wanted to give this hotel 5 stars for so many reasons-- but there is so much street noise that it's hard to sleep. We were in a king suite on the 9th floor. Beautifully decorated room-- bedroom had a king bed and the outside room had a desk, tv, pull out sofa, wet bar with granite countertop, and mini fridge. Bathroom was off the outer room and had granite countertop. Staff was lovely. Location seems ideal-- it is next to a beautiful man-made lake surrounded by lovely shops, a movie theatre, and restaurants, all within walking distance. Here's the problem-- lots of people love the area so there's tons of foot traffic. People going to restaurants, movies, just walking around the lake. The night I stayed there was a Friday night with beautiful weather. There were lots of people congregating right outside the hotel, talking. (The area is popular with teenagers as well). Also lots of street traffic-- cars and motorcycles. It was impossible to fall asleep until after 12:30 AM (even with windows closed and on the 9th floor!). To the staff's credit, when I complained the next morning they gave our party free breakfast buffets in the cafe (normally $13 per person, includes cooked to order omlettes, waffles, and hot/ cold cereals, yogurt, fruit, toast, etc.). I am truly of mixed feelings about this place-- I would think in the winter (when people wouldn't be outside) or a non-weekend night it might be lovely. Also, the staff person mentioned that the lake side of the hotel (as opposed to the street side where we were) is much quieter. However, they don't have suites on that side, only rooms. Parking is across the street in a parking garage that is also used by those coming to the restaurants, shops, and movies, so it can be a bit tight. Since we needed a suite, we checked out in the AM and spent the next night at the Hyatt Summerfield Suites (about a 10 minute drive from the marriott), which is also very nice. It's more secluded , so no lovely shops etc, but much more quiet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrysville, PA USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

I had not stayed in a Courtyard for many years so I was anxious to see how the recent chain-wide upgrades have turned out. I was not disappointed.

I had a large room on the eighth floor with a nice view of the artificial lake (and, unfortunately, the highways). The location is good for me when travelling to Washington for business. I drive approximately 10 minutes to the Shady Grove Metro station for my trip to the city.

The hotel is located in a pleasant complex of shops, restaurants, cinema, and health club. The restaurants have a wide variety. The shops are standard, but be sure to check out the 2-storey Target with an escalator for your shopping cart. I love the variety of restaurants and hope to try more of them on my next visit.

I have two minor complaints. The first is that the breakfast does not start early enough. I had to be in DC by 7:30 AM, which means I had to leave the hotel before the breakfast was available. I had to settle for a cup of coffee and danish in Metro Center. The other minor complaint is that I could not find the business center and didn't have time to ask where it was. I needed to have something printed as I was leaving for a meeting I was attending, I ended up calling a colleague to have her print it and bring it to the meeting.

All-in-all, however, I had a good stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

I'll keep this short and to the point. The hotel is a standard Marriott, which is a good thing. Rooms and the hotel are new and well kept. Nothing to complain about with the rooms and the hotel layout. Restaurant is nothing exciting, but the food is decent.

Best part of the hotel is the ability to take a walk to the 10+ restaurants right outside the door. One poster mentioned it is away from the main areas of Gaithersburg....what main areas? It's not in walking distance to the Metro, but then again who takes a train this far away from DC (FYI...going to DC, don't stay here)?

It has everything a business traveler needs and their service is excellent. Restaurant can be improved, but given I have been their months at a time, it seems to have improved.

In short, if you are a business traveler, this is a great place to be. Tourist, stay in DC.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Address: 204 Boardwalk Place, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pool is seasonal; hours of operations are Friday 5pm-10pm, Saturday 10am-10pm, and Sunday 10am-10pm. The Bar/Lounge is open weekdays Monday-Thursday 5pm-10pm on the 2nd floor main lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Gaithersburg Marriott
Gaithersburg Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.