We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gotta try it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coastal Flats

Coastal Flats
135 Crown Park Avenue, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
(301) 869-8800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 284 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Hickory Creek, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gotta try it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you are looking for upscale casual and want high end service, this is the place. Flawless every time we go. The best grilled Tuna I have had in years. I usually save tuna for sushi because I am so picky. They got it right. Try the shrimp cocktail too. The mango is a nice touch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    150
    43
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
rockville, MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Coastal Flats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I love the food at Coastal Flats and feel it is fairly priced. The bar area is nice too, if you want to take a break from shopping. the bread they serve in the beginning is delicious.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food & Drinks -- worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This location is set in a nice little shopping area and has a great outside area to sit in during nice weather -- especially for happy hour and some snacks! The food is very good and a nice variation on the menu, although perhaps slightly on the higher side of moderately priced, and the menu isn't that large.

Recommended for a group of friends or even a special evening with that special someone.

Plan to wait for a while if going at prime time during nice weather.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Great food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had dinner at this restaurant a couple of days ago and had an excellent experience. I wasn't sure I would need a reservation for a mid-week occasion but I made one anyway since I don't like to wait for dinner. In the end, I was glad that I did since the place was buzzing when we arrived at about 5:30pm, particularly the bar area that was filled with excited patrons.

The food was delicious and the wait staff was very attentive to our needs, sometimes anticipating our requests before we even made them. We had the chicken salad and crab cake dinners and would order the same meal again, and recommend it to anyone. Although we didn't have dessert, Coastal Flats has some really sweet concoctions as post-dinner fare.

We've been to this restaurant before, as well as the Coastal Flats in Tyson's Corner, and will return for both the great food and excellent service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“OVER RATED!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

It was mobbed, and there wasn't a single item on the menu that appealed to me. I don't understand why this is so popular-the food is typically over-complicated american cuisine. I prefer simpler cuisine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Flats also viewed

 

Been to Coastal Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastal Flats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.