We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local restaurant chain without chain dull food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coastal Flats

Coastal Flats
135 Crown Park Avenue, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
(301) 869-8800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 284 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Oakton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Local restaurant chain without chain dull food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Good food, no reservations, near the movie, ask for a quiet table...good luck...it can get really busy here after 5 on the weekends so allow for wait time...nice town center to walk around while you wait.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    150
    43
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Me and my wife ate at Coastal Flatts as it looked interesting from the outside. We were very pleased with quality of food and the service which was fantastic. They provided me a drink before I was even finished my first one, it was the rasberry lemonade and it was so great. Our server was very pleasant and everyone in there made sure to take great care of us.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Talk about crab cakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The place is located in a very trendy open mall, we had to seat at the bar as there were lots of people waiting for a table, but the bar is great and the food is fantastic.
I wanted Maryland style crabs, but what I got was even better. Chunks of crab meat held by a little bit of batter, great cole slaw and crispy fries. A very good selection of wines by the glass and very efficient and friendly service.
Sorry, no opinion about their desserts, I was stuffed!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Order the mushrooms!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

First time to Coastal Flats and was impressed with the Chedder Burger with a side of grilledmushrooms and my wife enjoyed the shrimp roll. Our server Julie was very pleasant and I have to thank her for recommending the mushrooms. Will come back!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I ate there twice and liked the food. The price was also very reasonable but coming from a high-price area I'm not sure if locals would share this opinion. The bad part was the surrounding. You feel like being in a big train station waiting area, and the noise level was really high. You can not expect a cozy conversation with your significant other as he/she may misunderstand what you are saying. But if you just want to have a good dinner, I think that is a good place to go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Flats also viewed

 

Been to Coastal Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastal Flats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.