We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“favorite local restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Hot & Blue

Red Hot & Blue
16811 Crabbs Branch Way, Gaithersburg, MD 20855
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 284 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Cuisines: Barbecue, Bar, Pizza, Sandwiches, Delicatessen, Pub, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Red Hot and Blue is a full-service, casual-themed restaurant chain and caterer featuring delicious award-winning ribs, Memphis-style barbeque, smoked wings, and Southern sides and desserts. The atmosphere is steeped in legendary and contemporary blues music and delivers a large dose of Southern hospitality in a fun and entertaining dining environment. History: The first Red Hot and Blue restaurant opened in Arlington, Virginia in 1988, started by Lee Atwater, Don Sundquist and friends. Don Sundquist was from Memphis and served in the House of Representatives and as governor of Tennessee. The late Lee Atwater was an amateur blues musician and political figure that managed George H.W. Bush's successful race for the presidency. These men were friends who longed for authentic Memphis-style barbeque and great blues music. Unable to find that combination anywhere in the Washington, DC area they decided the only way to get it done was to open a restaurant of their own. The Memphis-style barbeque chain celebrated its 25th Anniversary in 2013 by partnering with a charitable organization at 24 different restaurant locations. The yearlong celebration culminated in the presentation of thousands of dollars in donations to local charities. The Name: The name, "Red Hot and Blue" is taken from the title of D.J. Dewey Phillip's radio show that that aired on WHBQ-AM in Memphis, Tennessee in the 1950s. This radio show launched the careers of Elvis Presley, Jerry Lee Lewis and Johnny Cash and broadened the audience for artists such as BB King, Muddy Waters, Robert Cray and Rufus Thomas. Red Hot & Blue Dine-In, Take-Out and Catering. Hickory-smoked Memphis-style BBQ, Ribs, Wings, Beef Brisket, Smoked Chicken, Seafood, Full-service Bar, in a Family-friendly atmosphere with a heapin' helpin' of Southern Hospitality!
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“favorite local restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a nice, dependable bbq place. The food is good, the prices nice and servers are always attentive.

Visited September 2013
Thank 2MdTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Decent food, LOUSY service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had been here many times when we lived in the area several years ago and enjoyed it. We were there on a Wednesday night at 5:30 PM, not exactly the peak time. Although they seemed to have plenty of staff, our waiter seemed to have to take care of every one else. There was at least 10 minutes before he came to take our drink order. Once he brought those, he disappeared for about 15 minutes. Finally he came to take our orders. The food came out in a reasonable time. He then disappeared for a while not coming to check on us. We had to wave him down as one of our drink orders was incorrect. the food was what we expected. It was hot and as described in the menu. We decided we needed to ask for the check when we ordered dessert so he would not disappear again. He brought a refill on my coffee,not when asked but when he brought the check back. This was not something we had experienced here before. I hope it is an aberration and not the norm now.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Thank mndw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun staff, fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

All of the food at this location is amazing. The brisket sandwich is fantastic. The cole slaw is not to be missed. The staff is always friendly, fun, and attentive. It's a must if your in the Gaithersburg area of Maryland

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank redh34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
249 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Always a good place for BBQ!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Several Red Hot & Blue restaurants in the MD and VA...all god... pleasant service....excellent pulled pork sandwiches.

Visited March 2013
Thank gil101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wash dc
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Amazing service and food. Recent visit with a group of about 20 people with diverse tastes. As far as I could tell, all were pleased with their selections from a wide menu. I wish they did not list the calories. I was told that calories do not count in Gaithersburg. I enjoyed the pulled chicken platter. Drinks are served in pitchers. There was no problem with separate checks! A tip was included in the bill. You could add an additional tip if desired. I did.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Thank 419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Hot & Blue also viewed


Been to Red Hot & Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing