We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comedy Night Sad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Growler's of Gaithersburg

Growler's of Gaithersburg
227 E Diamond Ave, Gaithersburg, MD 20877-3015
301-519-9400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Growler's of Gaithersburg is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 293 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: J.A. Belt building is considered the oldest commercial property in Gaithersburg. The building has recently undergone a complete historic restoration and is listed on the National Historic Registry. The marriage of the old and new in this historic building creates a unique environment well suited for the reproduction of our turn of the century tavern. Hand-crafted beers and an excellent American menu keeps them coming back!
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Comedy Night Sad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I have been to Growlers several times for Comedy Night on Sunday nights. The headlining comedian is generally good, and you can get a few laughs out of the others. The food is typically ok, though slow in coming. The microbrew selection is generally awful, but you can order a decent beer by bottle. The real downfall of this place is the service. It ranges from below average to absolutely hideous. The last visit no one would serve us at all. The best we could get was blank stares from the waitress and bartender. We waited over an hour before leaving. Previous visits were not much better. -- This review is for the upstairs section. I have not eaten downstairs, but have heard from friends it's about the same.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    34
    17
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Don't Go”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Growler's has been a brewpub in this location under different names for many years. Sometimes it has been great and sometimes, well, not so good. Tonight not so good. Waitress was poor. Table not cleared off, waters not refilled. We ordered a salad that came with hair in it. It was replaced but we were charged for it. The beers are OK, nothing special. We will not be back for quite awhile. Hopefully we will be lucky next time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laytonsville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Growlin' Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Good food, great beer and a charming, if noisy atmosphere make this brew pub a nice way to spend an evening.

Definitely try the burgers. The lamburger is tasty, as is the angus burger. Fries are well done, the beer is cold and plentiful. The new management obviously knows what they're doing!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
353 reviews 353 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Third Time is a Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I visited this resturant in it's two previous versions (different owners), and I think this group got it right.
Great vibe throughout the entire resturant, terrific food, and awesome service.
The food is definately a step above your typical bar food. Generous portions and neat twist on typical favorites. Nothing pre-made here: farm fresh veggies and great cuts of meat and fish.
The layout is basically the same as it was with the other owners, but the place is simple cleaner, run more efficienctly, and the food is much better.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time on some items ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I saw short ribs on the menu and ordered that. At seventeen dollars and fifty cents, I was expecting to something with meat and bone. It was two lumps of meat dumped into a bowl with mashed potatoes and very, very thin onion rings. I was not worth it. The ice cream I ordered since it was the cheapest thing on the dessert menu at dollar fifty per scoop, came to the table halfway melted.

The sight lines for some seating in the upper stairs bar with the one hundred and five inch television are a bit of a bother. Try to get there well before a Redskins game to get the best seats. The place is so noisy, it's best if they just turn off the sound on the broadcast or put on the Close Caption feature so we can understand a bit more what's going on during the game.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Growler's of Gaithersburg also viewed

 

Been to Growler's of Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Growler's of Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.