We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge portions, fresh ingredients, delicious Greek food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Athens Grill & Restaurant

Athens Grill & Restaurant
9124 Rothbury Dr, Gaithersburg, MD 20886-1400
(301) 975-0757
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 272 restaurants in Gaithersburg
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Huge portions, fresh ingredients, delicious Greek food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We went here for lunch because of the great reviews on trip advisor. We were not disappointed. My husband ordered the Zorba platter (a mixed meat kabob with vegetables) and I had a gyro platter. Both were served over rice with Greek salad. Each entire was less then &15 and was three times the amount of food one person could eat. There where many more lunch appropriate choices on the menu. I highly recommend this casual restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    12
    8
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Greek food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This place is simply delicious. The gyro platter is fantastic!

I have had a lot of the things on the menu and I have never been disappointed.

The gyro platter is my favorite. The gyro meat is sooo good, the feta is always good and the pita is fantastic. Then of course the salad dressing is delicious as well.

Great place for authentic, delicious Greek food in Gburg.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Greek Family Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Nothing fancy, simple furnishings in a small shopping center. This restaurant is family operated. As you enter you see a big grill with gyro meat cooking, chickens on the rotiseree and smell all kinds of wonderful food. Best pita bread ever. Have had salads, kabobs, platters, chicken, lamb, steak - each one better than the last. One suggestion-get the dressings on the side, they tend to be overly generous.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Zagat food rating = 26! There's a reason!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Dimitri's cooking is better than anything I've had in new York, Chicago, etc, even in Cyprus and Greece! The ambiance is bright and garish, so get it to go, or focus on the food! Whatever you have make sure you get a salad so you can try the excellent house dressing. My favorite is the grilled breast of chicken salad. I also like the orzo. And the tzatziki and humus are also very good. Deserts are not as impressive, so have more salad or sides!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Greek Food, Casual Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Located in a strip mall in Montgomery Village, this place is not much to look at. Clean but non descript. But the food is great and plenty of it.

The gyro sandwich is huge and loaded with meat. Main dishes and sides are good. They have seafood specials that come with a greek salad and the Greek salad dressing is fabulous. Home made with a special house recipe, full of flavor, not too much vinegar and good olive oil.
They have a family picnic meal for carryout that includes a roasted chicken, huge greek salad and grilled pita for under $20.
The home made desserts are very good and reasonably priced.
This is not a fancy place. Just excellent food for eat in or carryout.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athens Grill & Restaurant also viewed

 
Gaithersburg, MD
Gaithersburg, MD
 

Been to Athens Grill & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athens Grill & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.