We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific weekend buffet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madras Palace Vegetarian Indian Cuisine

Madras Palace Vegetarian Indian Cuisine
74 Bureau Dr, Giant Shopping Complex, Gaithersburg, MD 20878-1402
301-977-1600
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #30 of 265 restaurants in Gaithersburg
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Terrific weekend buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I've visited Madras Palace several times for their vegetarian weekend buffet - most recently this past weekend with my family of four (2 adults, 2 kids ages 8 and 10).

The weekend buffet is a magnificent spread ranging from delicious pau bhaji (which is a kind of street food in India) to idlis, dosas, sambar, rasam, and all kinds of South Indian vegetable dishes including pumpkin and squash kootus (a kind of stew, often made with coconut). The dishes are authentic and delicious. I'd recommend people try the dishes in small quantities first as some can be spicy. Though only masala dosas are served in the buffet (these are dosas filled with a spicy potato curry), on request, the waiters will bring dosas without the filling to you - so make it a point to ask if you prefer plain dosas.

A final plus is that the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    8
    8
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I like this place for the buffet lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Yes, 100% vegetarian and a great place to have lunch. Lots of dish variety from Aloo Matar to Gobhi Aloo, my favorite chana masala, palak panner and dosa plus various desserts. Cuisine is offered from both North and South India, service is adequate, and price is decent value. Booth seating and general decor could use an upgrade or refreshing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Tired of North Indian Buffets?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Madras (modern name Chennai) is a large city in South India with its own distinctive Indian cuisine variant. Madras Palace lives up to its name by providing authentic poriyals, kootus, sambar, rasam, mixed rice dishes (known as pilafs), Madras style desserts and all the other trimmings that go into a distinctive Madrasi meal. If I lived closer to this restaurant, I am afraid my weight problem would get worse!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced for sure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I gone there during Onam celebrations and was disappointed to say there was nothing much on the weekends irrespective of the extra charge.I would recommend wood land or Minerva ( a Non-veg )for sure.I had visited this Place after 3 years and felt they surely grown-up in price but down in Quality.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best South Indian food in USA!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Having tried Indian food in at least 30 states within USA, I can confidently say that this is probably the best South Indian food in USA. This definitely beats some of the more popular south Indian places in Bay area and Texas.

I traveled to DC with my mother and had a chance to try Madras Cafe, Woodlands and Saravana Palace. I think Madras Cafe was the best by far and I would definitely recommend this restaurant for someone looking for vegetarian south Indian food!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madras Palace Vegetarian Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Madras Palace Vegetarian Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madras Palace Vegetarian Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.