We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific weekend buffet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madras Palace Vegetarian Indian Cuisine

Madras Palace Vegetarian Indian Cuisine
74 Bureau Dr, Giant Shopping Complex, Gaithersburg, MD 20878-1402
301-977-1600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 279 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Terrific weekend buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I've visited Madras Palace several times for their vegetarian weekend buffet - most recently this past weekend with my family of four (2 adults, 2 kids ages 8 and 10).

The weekend buffet is a magnificent spread ranging from delicious pau bhaji (which is a kind of street food in India) to idlis, dosas, sambar, rasam, and all kinds of South Indian vegetable dishes including pumpkin and squash kootus (a kind of stew, often made with coconut). The dishes are authentic and delicious. I'd recommend people try the dishes in small quantities first as some can be spicy. Though only masala dosas are served in the buffet (these are dosas filled with a spicy potato curry), on request, the waiters will bring dosas without the filling to you - so make it a point to ask if you prefer plain dosas.

A final plus is that the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VSSUBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I like this place for the buffet lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Yes, 100% vegetarian and a great place to have lunch. Lots of dish variety from Aloo Matar to Gobhi Aloo, my favorite chana masala, palak panner and dosa plus various desserts. Cuisine is offered from both North and South India, service is adequate, and price is decent value. Booth seating and general decor could use an upgrade or refreshing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank poolesvilletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
90 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tired of North Indian Buffets?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Madras (modern name Chennai) is a large city in South India with its own distinctive Indian cuisine variant. Madras Palace lives up to its name by providing authentic poriyals, kootus, sambar, rasam, mixed rice dishes (known as pilafs), Madras style desserts and all the other trimmings that go into a distinctive Madrasi meal. If I lived closer to this restaurant, I am afraid my weight problem would get worse!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlfaGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced for sure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I gone there during Onam celebrations and was disappointed to say there was nothing much on the weekends irrespective of the extra charge.I would recommend wood land or Minerva ( a Non-veg )for sure.I had visited this Place after 3 years and felt they surely grown-up in price but down in Quality.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best South Indian food in USA!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Having tried Indian food in at least 30 states within USA, I can confidently say that this is probably the best South Indian food in USA. This definitely beats some of the more popular south Indian places in Bay area and Texas.

I traveled to DC with my mother and had a chance to try Madras Cafe, Woodlands and Saravana Palace. I think Madras Cafe was the best by far and I would definitely recommend this restaurant for someone looking for vegetarian south Indian food!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Monkey-in-town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madras Palace Vegetarian Indian Cuisine also viewed

 
Gaithersburg, MD
 

Been to Madras Palace Vegetarian Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing