We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once a month” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acajutla Mexican Restaurant

Acajutla Mexican Restaurant
18554 Woodfield Rd., Gaithersburg, MD 20879-4709
(301) 670-1674
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 293 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Cuisines: Mexican, Salvadoran
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Once a month”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Pescado Acajutla is my favorite; Aroz con Pollo is the consistent choice for my son and daughters. This is another consistently good inexpensive restaurant that is thankfully very close to home, so if no one wants to cook...Acajutla! If son is home from college - Acajutla! The shopping center looks pretty unimpressive but this is a pearl for Salvadoran - Mexican food.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice little neighborhood restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I usually get a fijita - always tasty, and a nice flan for dessert. Whatever we've gotten has always been good. They have both Mexican and Salvadorean appetizers. Excellent service. Haven't been there lately - cut back on eating out due to trying to lose weight. However, used to go there a lot and wouldn't mind going back. Small but cheerful place - makes a great change from home cooking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Excellent food; distracted service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We've been here many times, always returning for the food, which has always been very good. Whether more traditional Mexican dishes (burrito, enchiladas, etc.) or more Salvadorian food -- the fish and shrimp dishes are especially good, Acajutla never disappoints food-wise.

This time however, service was spotty. At one point, I had to interrupt our server's txting to get her to bring the water we had requested. She also brought the wrong entree, and, as she did not check up on us, we had to send it back with another server. Our server then apologized and service was fine after that. A lot of tables were waiting that night, but the restaurant was not packed.

As this is the first time we've had poor service and the food is TERRIFIC, we'll still definitely go back, but hope that service is better next time.

Prices are also very reasonable.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derwood, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“If you want Mexican / Central American this place is the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I love this place. besides the typical Mexican selections, they have the best meat and fish dishes of any Hispanic resturant I have visited. A great selection of tasty dishes. I have never been disapointed. All my friends love this place too!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Pines, MD
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We first visited Acajutla more than 12 years ago as we lived in the neighborhood. It became one of our favorite restaurants in the Gaithersburg area. Our family, including children, have never been disappointed in any food or drink selection. We moved away 5 years ago, but still go there whenever we are in the area visiting our children. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone I knew. Great food and great value.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acajutla Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
Gaithersburg, MD
 

Been to Acajutla Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acajutla Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.