We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vasilis Mediterranean Grill

Vasilis Mediterranean Grill
353 Main Street, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
301-977-1011
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 278 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Price range: $12 - $27
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Description: Where the Mediterranean meets Main Street in Gaithersburg, MD.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
2 reviews
“Truly Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This cozy family owned restaurant has been our tradition for many years and they never disappoint. The friendly staff knows us on a first name basis and its always nice to be treated like we are part of the family, which is not something you can usually get from this area. They recently changed their wines which has improved their selection. My kids love this place so much that they force me to get carry-out when they can't make it. I always do come back because the owners Bill and Julie always serve creative dinner specials and Julie's homemade desserts are a must!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    33
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We return whenever we can”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We've been dining at Vasili's since it opened and though we've moved away, our family returns whenever we're back in the area. The food is consistently excellent. Our favorites are the Chicken Souvlaki, Gyros and Falafel platters. For appetizers, we always get the hummus and tzatziki. Service has always been great. Vasili's doesn't take reservations so go early. It's the best restaurant in the Kentlands and one of the best in Gaithersburg.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derwood, MD
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We have been eating at Vasilis Mediterranean Grill many times. Consistency is their motto. I always order the Kotopoulo Skaras, a half of organic herb seasoned roasted chicken with rice. It's the same every time - delicious. The staff are very friendly, attentive and professional. No matter what night of the week one dines, it's crowded. Bill and Julie run a extremely efficient establishment. All the food is fresh and prepared downstairs in their kitchen. We have dined with friends who always order fish and they routinely rave about how wonderful it is. The desserts are also top notch. It's always a treat when Bill and Julie stop by and visit customers.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bad Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We haven eaten here 4 or 5 times and it was always good. Tonight it was terrible. The lamb kebobs tasted like mystery meat. It was slimey and greasy. Not what grilled lamb chunks should be. It tasted like aged, far too aged meat. I will never go back again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“WOW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Dolmathakia - $9; Pikilia (The Trio) - $14 and Gyro - $14, we love Pikilia very much, it contained tzatziki, melitzanosalata, and hummus. Melitizansalata (another name for Baba ghanoush) tasted so delicious, Tzatziki and hummus were the best!! Dolmathakia was not what we expected, it was cooked and less rice, it was OK. We were so used with cold dolmathakia with a lot of rice stuffed in. Gyro was very good, very flavorful. The indoor was very dark so we chose outdoor dining area and the service was great. The hostess needs to dress right, she looked like a prostitute. Their free wifi doesn't have the strength on my mobile so I gave up trying.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vasilis Mediterranean Grill also viewed

 

Been to Vasilis Mediterranean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vasilis Mediterranean Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.