We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guapos Cantina

Guapos Cantina
9811 Washingtonian Blvd Ste L17, Gaithersburg, MD 20878-7306
301-977-5655
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 309 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

i visited guapos with my wife. We got the lake facing table. This was the first time i was having a meal on boardwalk. was amazing experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sanket S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have pretty high standards for cheese enchiladas...I don't like the chewy stringy kind of cheese so I did not enjoy my enchiladas. Also, the refried beans were extremely watery

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Standard GO TO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We make this a standard in our lunch outings, happy hour meetings, and dinner before movie night outings in my circle of friends and co-workers. I have had a variety of selections from the menu and can only complain about the Taco's really. Everything else is very good. A lot of people like the tacos but I find them too greasy for my taste. Drinks are excellent and service which can be slow on the outdoor patio is acceptable because the scenery can't be beat. I also love that they can close up the outdoor seating and heat it up for winter time so you don't loose out on the scenery or the business in those harsh winter months around here. Go for the Guacamole if you love it they hand make it in front of you here and I can't get enough.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank D_Kirk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Of The Best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Our all time favorite . Excellent food and great service. Best value for the Margaritas. Always busy and packed, still great service. Very friendly staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BKYESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“delicious margarita's and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have been here now about 6 times (come here about once a month) and I love the food and ambiance.
The frozen margarita's are amazing... plus the salsa that you get for free with your chips, I think they have put some kind of crack in it ;)

I often order the chicken enchilada's and they have been good every time except once, when they were a bit dry. I also love the spinach enchilada's and I think these are the best. Once I had a tamale and I did not like it, but I think that is more because I do not like tamales (ordered them at other places and also did not like them).
Yesterday I tried the half chicken in Acapulco sauce. That was a lot of food! It was jummy, had half of the food at dinner and enjoyed the other half today at lunch. The tres leches was great too (it was a week after my B-day and my BF had arranged for them to bring out the desert with a candle and a sombrero, every time at Guapo's this happens 5 times a night at least).
We usually go on a Sunday and the restaurant is always crowded, still they are fast with bringing out the food and I like the option that you can sit outside.
It is a bit on the pricy side for a latin place, but damn those margarita's and the salsa make up for it (and the huge amount of food).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smattijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guapos Cantina also viewed

 
Gaithersburg, MD
 

Been to Guapos Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing