We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmmmm good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flaming Pit - CLOSED

Flaming Pit
18701 N Frederick Ave, Gaithersburg, MD 20879-3121
(301) 977-0700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Mmmmmm good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have lived in this area for year and have never eaten here. We went for our anniversary and enjoyed the night. The food, service and entertainment was great. We had a good time.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    32
    11
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Flaming Pit is closed for renovations”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The flaming pit is currently closed for renovations. I'm site it would have been great. But we'll never know.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great prime rib!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I went to this place for the first time last night. The prime rib was great. I've been looking for a good prime rib since Tom Sarris Orleans House in Rosslyn closed, and The Flaming Pit was almost as good. It is a little pricey here, but the food portions were good. We also went to the Piano Lounge after dinner, and that was a blast. I got to dance with a friendly older gentlemen. Decor wise, this restaurant looks like you walked straight into the 70s, but it adds to the charm.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The piano show is very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This place is unique, we enjoyed the most is a piano player attracted many guests to enjoy and sing along.

It's a very formal place, pricy but a great place for a special occation, The crowd is an older group, dressed well.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“in the swing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very nice dinner- service was perfect. the rockfish extremely fresh. others at the table had steaks that looked and tasted very good and tender. then we ritired to their bar where many different patrons sang wthe the piano player who was also excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flaming Pit also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flaming Pit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.