We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a family gathering” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buca di Beppo

Buca di Beppo
122 Kentlands Blvd, Gaithersburg, MD 20878-5505
+1 301-947-7346
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 279 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Vegetarian, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Great Seneca Highway
Transit: Ride On Bus - Kentlands Blvd Stop
Description: Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.
Herndon, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for a family gathering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Italian food was very good served family style and the staff went overboard to meet our needs. We had a great time celebrating two family birthdays.

Visited September 2013
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great place to go, make sure to make a reservation for their Kitchen Table. Everyone is nice from the General Manager "Farhad" to all the receptionists and Waitstaffs. Great food, Fast, good quality. The restaurant has a beautiful atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Thank Amir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Italian Food, Over Priced, somewhat Stingy portions!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I have been to Buca's before and it was ok, nothing to rave about, and kind of average. Last night, is the last time, I will ever go there. This restaurant has the nerve to charge ala carte for pasta, when I ordered veal Parm!. I asked the waitress, where is the pasta, and she said that it was ala carte. This is the first time in an Italian restaurant that veal parm, didn't come with a pasta. Ok, I ordered a side order of pasta, and it was pretty good tasting. The portion was small, and the veal parm had very little sauce on it. I asked the manager, how could the sell a $25 dollar veal parm, and be so damn skimpy with sauce. The manager told me that they always put 4 0z. of sauce on the veal. Can you imagine that? A whopping four oz. of sauce on three pieces of veal! How stingy of them. The manager did ask if I wanted more sauce and brought a small bowl to my table. Very nice, considering I paid enough for the entree!! The mere fact of the matter is, how can a restaurant be stingy as they are and still expect a customer to return? I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Thank Larry20874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucalove, Guest Relations Manager at Buca di Beppo, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Please accept our apologies for your experience. We have forwarded the information to management and would love to have someone reach out to you. Could you email us your contact information to mamacares@bucainc.com? Please make sure to include the date and location of your complaint in your e-mail. We always appreciate opportunities to better serve our guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Painfully loud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Enjoy the many unique rooms and decorating. Enjoyed the food. The meatballs were wonderful. Everything we had was good. Fun atmosphere. Family style dining. But the acoustics were the worst I have ever experienced in a restaurant. Hard to even hear the people next to me. Not recommended for sound sensitive or hard of hearing people.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Thank StreamsAndCities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perhaps it was the unassuming entrance ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

All I knew was that this was a little Italian restaurant. Little in size, maybe, but huge in taste and portions. This was a business dinner for about 25, put together by the hosting agency. We had a great private room and the best assortment of dishes, from appetizers to desserts, I've ever had. It was served family style and everything ... I mean everything was simply delish! Chicken Parm, eggplant, chicken marsala, fettuccine alfredo. Oh my mouth is watering just remembering! Did I mention the tiramisu to die for? Oh and the Italian Creme Cake! I want to go back. I need to go back! Yum oh yum!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
1 Thank Christy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buca di Beppo also viewed


Been to Buca di Beppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buca di Beppo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.