We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North - Gaithersburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North - Gaithersburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   960 North Fredrick Avenue, Gaithersburg, MD 20879   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2x HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Gaithersburg
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lancaster, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Rooms are very clean and new. Staff very courteous and go out of their way to help you. Breakfast has lots of choices, something for everyone. Was a pleasure to stay here. Will stay here again when we are in the area!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leila B, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hello! Thank you for sharing your experience at our new hotel. We actually just received new breakfast ideas from Hampton so you got to come back and try them out. See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    28
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
55
21
8
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsdale, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Truly the nicest Hampton Inn I've ever stayed at. I'm a Hilton Honors member and usually stay at this chain but this was really above and beyond. It's new, so it's clean and VERY well staffed. The people here were so eager to please with out over doing it. The fitness center rivals any gym so I even got my work out in!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leila B, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hello! Thank you for noticing all our efforts to go above and beyond. Our fitness center has really generated great feedback from guests like you. Extremely spacious, natural light, large windows, high tech (but easy to use) equipment. We love it too. Hope you can come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Had a wonderful stay here. The hotel staff were very friendly and professional. This is a new hotel and the staff is doing a great job keeping it looking that way. You will not be disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leila B, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Hello! WOW! Thank you for the time to add your feedback and experience. Most of the team worked on the new hotel from construction and we couldn't agree with you more that the property is beautiful and also upscale for a Hampton Inn & Suites. Glad we added Hamptonality to your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Saddle River
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

New. Clean. Good breakfast. Couteous and helpful staff. Location handy to I-270. Very firm but good mattresses. Good value. Fine salt water pool. Excellent, hot coffee at all times. Franchised owners striving to please and are on premesis most of the time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leila B, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Hello! Thank you for your feedback and noticing our efforts to offer the best hotel in the area and top notch service. Hope you get to come back soon. Have a great weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, PA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night at this hotel, a Sunday night, recently after returning from a trip to the Caribbean. The flight into Reagan National arrived at 12:30AM. Rather than stay in town near the airport before driving several hours home the next day, we elected to find a hotel which was relatively close (so not too far to drive at 1AM in the morning) to downtown Washington DC, but outside the beltway and outside the heavy traffic zone, so we could continue our drive back home into Pennsylvania in the morning.

This hotel fit the bill perfectly. It was only about a 40 minute drive from Reagan National (assuming a time of day with no heavy traffic). The hotel is quite new. Consequently, it is very nice and clean. The price is very competitive for the greater DC area. It was close to I-270, but far enough off of it that we did not hear freeway traffic.

I have stayed in many Hampton Inns all over the country. They are generally quite predictable (in a good way) in my experience. The only times I have been disappointed is when the building itself is older. The carpets get dirty. The air smells musty. Unless hotel owner/operators are willing to spend capital to refurbish and replace carpet, etc., the wear and tear drags down the Hampton reputation. But, happy to report, this Hampton is really nice relative to other Hampton Inn locations where I have stayed. It benefits from being so fresh and new.

For someone looking for a place to stay in the greater DC area that was more modestly priced, but still close enough to have good access to downtown, this is a good choice.

One last pointer: leaving DC, and driving here on I-270, one needs to commit perhaps 5 to 10 miles before the actual exit to the right-hand, local access lanes of I-270. Fortunately for me, I was using a Garmin which somehow knew this and kept me in the two right-hand lanes for many miles (not sure how many) before the actual exit. If I had stayed to the left, in the main thru lanes of I-270, I would have come to the exit point and discovered I could not get off. You are committed in the thru lanes by concrete barriers that take you past the exit. I am not sure how far you would have to go north before it would let you off to backtrack south again (or technically southeast again). Anyway, bottom line, stay to the right on I-270 north until you get to the exit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leila B, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and suggested instructions to get to our new hotel.

"For someone looking for a place to stay in the greater DC area that was more modestly priced, but still close enough to have good access to downtown, this is a good choice." This sentence really does some up how convenient we are to the nations capital and guests will enjoy the fact that our pricing is really good especially for such an 'upscale' Hampton model. Hope you can come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Service was excellent, bed was excellent, convenient...I can't say enough good. The room was large and had convenient outlets for all of our plug ins! Shower was great. Wonderful replacement for the Hampton that closed in Germantown.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leila B, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Hello! Wonderful review for us - thank you! The added outlets have really generated great feedback for the new hotel. The attention to detail and comfort that our owners and investors had planned for the new built hotel has really paid of. Not sure if you knew but we are actually a LEED designed hotel and we are working towards getting our LEED certification. So great focus on sustainability, energy efficiency and water conservation. So pleased you found us and please share with friends and colleagues. We would love to welcome you all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg MD, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Was working in the area and found this place online. Great location and great facility. Staff was great, checked me in in about 5 minutes. Room was huge but the best was the bed!! Extremely comfortable. Chairs need to be a little more comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leila B, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hello! A great night's sleep is priceless. So pleased you found us. Hope you will be back soon and will consider us as your hotel of choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North - Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North - Gaithersburg

Address: 960 North Fredrick Avenue, Gaithersburg, MD 20879
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North - Gaithersburg 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North - Gaithersburg MD is a brand new hotel that opened in July 2013. Hampton Inn & Suites in Gaithersburg is an environmentally friendly, LEED designed Maryland hotel which is conveniently located just off I-270. A free hotel shuttle is provided within a 5 mile radius and to the Metro station (schedule at front desk). The property is near multiple businesses including IBM and Lockheed Martin. It is also just a short train ride from DC. All guests receive complimentary WiFi, hot breakfast, plus we have added an electric car charging station for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North - Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North - Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;