We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than Benihana” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ziki Japanese Steak House

Ziki Japanese Steak House
10009 Fields Rd, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
301-330-3868
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 271 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“better than Benihana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Had hibachi style meal while others in party had sushi. Food was very good and chef was entertaining, Prices were reasonable for this style of dining.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
353 reviews 353 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Slipping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We've been to Ziki many times over the last few years for birthdays and other special occassions. We really feel like there slipping. From bathroom and lobby cleanliness to the quality of the food and even the performance of the chefs, Ziki seems to have lowered their standards.
Our party of seven ordered a decent variety, but nothing too difficult. Unfortunately, either ouf chef is new or was distracted, but he delivered the food in a haphazzard manner; with the vegtables not getting be plated until we were basically done with our protein. The kids were entertained, but the food was just average.
The chef did a decent job with the standard schtick, but he seemed uninspried or distracted.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Hibachi Food at Rio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

A good find near my home - Nice Japanese Steakhouse. I loved the Filet and Shrimp. My son had Lobster and he loved it too. Will definitely be visiting again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC metro area
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Pricey but fun for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I've been here twice in the past month - once with a large group and once with the family. On the first trip, we had a reservation for an early lunch on a Saturday; the place hadn't yet become busy with the lunch rush and we had plenty of space and attention from the wait staff. On the second visit, I was just with the family - it was a Saturday night and place was unbelievably packed. However, they seated us very promptly and we had a great time. There's some variabilty in the liveliness of the hibachi chefs (our first was more entertaining than the second); but the food was quite good on both occasions. The only reason I gave it four stars instead of five was the cost- the hibachi menu is pretty pricey, especially if you've got hungry teens in tow.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
541 reviews 541 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 193 cities Reviews in 193 cities
1,147 helpful votes 1,147 helpful votes
“Your typical Hibachi steak house.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This place appears to be loosing steam despite the heat from its multiple hibachi tables. The predictable ohhs and ahhs at every surge of flare and antics by its chefs is a bit tired, mostly attracting first time hibachi-style diners. The food is just as predictable, average Japanese. The freshness of our sashimi was a bit dicey. Our white tuna was fresh however the maguro bordered on grocery quality. The Manhattan roll sushi is average at best. Service is inconsistently attentive. The restaurant needs a major interior and exterior redo, also appears tired.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ziki Japanese Steak House also viewed

Gaithersburg, MD
 
Gaithersburg, MD
Gaithersburg, MD
 

Been to Ziki Japanese Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ziki Japanese Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.