We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Not Your Average Joe's

Not Your Average Joe's
245 Kentlands Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD
+1 240-477-1040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Not Your Average Joe's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 273 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Glad to see this place open up recently. Attentive employees, great beer selection, and the food is fresh and good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    73
    29
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good, will come back again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We went there on a Sunday night. No wait, and our server was very helpful. We had the pork belly appetizer, the jambalaya, salmon and meatloaf entrees. All was very tasty, the jambalaya was the best. Overall the service was very good and the food came out fast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Comfort food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Service was excellent! Bartender assisted with pairing wines with entrées. Fresh, comforting and tasty!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
189 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fun place for drinks and eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled on this place and decided to give it a try. Restaurant side was very busy so we chose to sit at bar. The whole experience was pleasant. They had an excellent draft beer selection and the food was very good. We had the Caribbean chicken tenders and pulled pork pretzel bites. Definitely recommend NYAJ and will return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Level Contributor
243 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A MENU OF GREAT VARIETY & EXCELLENT STAFF & SERVICE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

There were lots of thoughtful little touches, like attractive cloth napkins, and quality steak knives that actually cut. We were positively well impressed too by the many thoughtful choices on the menu. Joe's offers something for every taste. We had the schnitzel which was crisp and delicately pan fried, and the chicken Carbonnara with a "no garlic" cream sauce. No, it was not a classic Carbonnara, but still a true winner with many crunchy bacon bits and tiny veggies hidden in the sauce - first class touches. Gold medals for all the staff! Greeters by the door were expertly organized to seat customers according to their preferences inside or out, booth or table, and bright lights or soft romantic lights, wow! When our server, Silvia, couldn't answer a preparation question, a cook, Courtney came from the kitchen to explain the prep to us. Both the manager and the asst. mgr. came by to ask if everything was ok. At all levels the service was splendid. We observed the other wait staff, and they all seemed to be well trained and well organized to serve the customers quickly and efficiently. For the Gaithersburg and Germantown areas, a snappy, well trained wait staff is a miraculous event worthy of a first page news article. For drinks, there are sodas and flavored teas that are "bottomless" meaning no charge for unlimited refills. Try a glass of the raspberry ice tea, delicious. The atmosphere is clean, new, and bright, and not too noisy. Outside tables fill up magically as soon as the sun starts to fade. The outside terraces are quite nice for late drinks with plates of appetizers. Overall, our visit was a most pleasant dining experience. Go Joe!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Not Your Average Joe's also viewed

 

Been to Not Your Average Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Not Your Average Joe's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.