We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, good food, yummy libations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Not Your Average Joe's

Not Your Average Joe's
245 Kentlands Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD
240-477-1040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Not Your Average Joe's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 273 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Ocean View, Delaware
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great service, good food, yummy libations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stopped in for an early dinner. The house made bread and oil are so delicious, but put a rein on it or you will never eat your dinner. Food portions were plentiful, seasoned, but not overly :). Wait staff is very friendly, pleasant, and anxious to please. Prompt delivery of bread basket, drinks, food, check, and change. Imagine it might be noisy later in the evening, if that concerns you. And a kids menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    56
    22
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Potomac
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice menu, family friendly and much better service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family has eaten at this restaurant several times, and each time, the overall experience gets even better. The menu has gotten more appealing and the service much improved. We now always look forward to our visit to Not Your Average Joe's in Gaithersburg.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown Maryland
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Getting better everytime”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were big fans of the Leesburg Facility when this one opened. It had a rough start but is better each time we go there. Service was done well today, the food came out in a timely manner but not all at once as it had before. The bread they give you is to die for as usual. I had the Ahi Tuna Appetizer and it was delicious, the tuna was perfectly prepared the spices of the sauce were not overpowering but flavorful. My wife had the tomato basal and it was very good also. I tried the special of clams and linguine for dinner. At first when it came out it looked pretty small in the bowl. But as I dug in there was a ton of flavor in there with the numerous clams, sausage, tomatoes and other ingredients plus another piece of that fabulous bread. over loaded on carbs tonight but it was worth it. My wife had the goat cheese salad and it was a generous serving well done with a lovely raspberry vinergarrete.

We are happy that the service has improved as the store has matured and we will be going back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good service and somr very good menu items”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I'm not usually a fan of chine restaurants but the service here is very good and there are some outstanding items on the menu. They also will modify most menu item if you request it. I had chicken enchiladas and know they would be too mild for my New Mexico taste but with added jalapenos I requested they were very good. A friend had a pizza which included pistachios which were a nice touch. The bread and spiced olive oil served before the meal is excellent and irresistible.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, MD
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Average No”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Like the variety in this casual restaurant. We were with a large group and everyone could find something they liked. I had the Turkey Burger with a small Greek Salad on the plate. Nice presentation and tasted good. Service was outstanding with lots of refills for our drinks and prompt service. For us it is a long trip to eat here, but we have been back quite a few times because we enjoy food explorations. We would definitely go back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Not Your Average Joe's also viewed

 

Been to Not Your Average Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Not Your Average Joe's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.